Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kingston, ON, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why am I not getting Version 1511

    I have a relatively standard Windows 10 Pro desktop that started life as Windows Vista. It has been regularly updated and patched as various updates and patches have become available. There is nothing unusual about the configuration and I regularly receive patches which, these days, get downloaded and installed automatically. The most recent was on the 13 Jan 2016.

    But I have never received the November Update (Version 1511).

    I have done nothing to prevent it and there has never been any failed attempt to install it (as far as I know). I saw all the announcements in Windows Secrets and I fully expected that the update would arrive automatically as it did with my laptop. I have never received any hint that it tried to install even though I have received a number of routine patches that have been installed automatically. A check just now confirms I am still on Windows 10.0 Build 10240 - obtained through the "run winver" command.

    Can anyone suggest why this has happened and what I can do about it.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Check your settings to ensure that you haven't accidentally, or otherwise selected to "Defer updates in Windows". (Windows 10 Pro only)

    I'm hearing that if one uninstalls the upgrade, one will not get it offered again. Is there any chance you might have uninstalled it?
    Otherwise you may have to upgrade again;
    Is your PC not getting the Windows 10 November update? Just use the media creation tool
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kingston, ON, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Success!

    Well, I did not have the "Defer Updates" option checked and I am quite sure I never removed the upgrade at any time so I decided to try your suggestion of reinstalling the Windows 10 update.

    Two and a half hours later I have Windows 10 installed and the version that got installed was 1511 so I am happy. Rather lengthy but completely satisfactory.

    Thank you so much for your suggestion. It is not one I would have likely tried on my own.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I've never received the Nov. 1511 update yet either and get all the other updates BUT I am just going to wait and see if it ever shows up.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    It probably won't Lumpy, and it's an update [service pack] you'll want to have.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2016-02-03 at 13:21.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    427
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    I think CLiNT is right, and the media creation tool is a fine way to get it.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Thanks for the input Clint/RockE.
    I don't want to hijack chimo79's thread but since he solved his problem I guess it doesn't matter.
    If I use the MCT it will be a fresh install won't it, losing the previous programs/settings, etc.?
    Win 10 Pro is installed on an x64 HP laptop upgraded from Win 7 Pro.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    If you run setup on the MCT created DVD/USB drive from within Windows, your programs and settings will be retained. Its still a good idea to make an image backup first just in case things go wrong.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    427
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    @lumpy95
    Your programs and settings should be fine. However I have to agree with Jerry insofar as creating an image is never a bad decision.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Thanks.
    As to imaging, I update my clone approx. monthly so I would update it before I started anything. Just curious as to why 1511 is never found when WU runs. As I said earlier, all other updates are found and I'm not on a metered connection. Interesting

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I'm D/Ling to a USB 3.0 from the MCT as I post this.
    1- I unchecked the "Use recommended settings" before starting the D/L, will that hurt anything?
    2- It just say's Windows 10, there is no designation as to Pro or home like in the original D/L of 10240. I assume it will recognize that it is Pro, is that correct?
    3- Instead of booting from the USB, can I just run the setup.exe file to upgrade to 1511?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    1. Should be OK.
    2. Home or Pro is determined by key. Download has both.
    3. Yes.

    Joe

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2016-02-03)

  14. #13
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    2. Home or Pro is determined by key. Download has both.
    Since I already have 10240, I assume that when it ask's for a key, I just click on "skip", is that correct?

  15. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    Since I already have 10240, I assume that when it ask's for a key, I just click on "skip", is that correct?
    When you installed the previous Windows 10 build, you should be digitally activated, so it shouldn't ask for a key. If it does you can just click on skip.

    Click on setup from within windows to start an upgrade install to preserve your programs and settings.

    Jerry

    Jerry

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2016-02-03)

  17. #15
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Your right, it's now done. version 1511 is installed.
    Unfortunately 1511 uninstalled Intel Wi-Di and smart connect technologys saying that they are not compatible with this version.
    So now, I can't see any of the other computers on the network from my laptop. The other computers are win 7 pro and they can see and access the W10 laptop but it can't see them in File Explorer>networks.
    Bummer!! Any suggestions?

    Maybe I should start a new thread for this?
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2016-02-03 at 21:53.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •