Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unresponsive websites and script issues plus noise

    I've been getting too many "internet not responding" when I try to close a tab, and script failure popups lately (the ones where the option are debug or stop script, among others). Plus, my PC sounds funny with buzzing and whirling sounds. I hope I don't have to buy a new hard drive, not so soon after I bought the last one. What do you folks think?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiger4 View Post
    I've been getting too many "internet not responding" when I try to close a tab, and script failure popups lately (the ones where the option are debug or stop script, among others). Plus, my PC sounds funny with buzzing and whirling sounds. I hope I don't have to buy a new hard drive, not so soon after I bought the last one. What do you folks think?
    What OS? (Win7, Win8/8.1, Win10, etc). What browser? (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc).

    We don't think anything if you don't tell us enough about your setup!!!
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Don't think anything most of the time!

    cheers, Paul

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-02-03)

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Don't think anything most of the time!

    cheers, Paul
    Would help if OP bothered to tell us OS & browser version details.

    Otherwise we are only guessing...
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    I recommend that you install NoScript, and see if that fixes things.

    Here is more info: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ing-in-Firefox!

    To sum up: I have installed Adblock Plus and NoScript, and I have uninstalled Flash. My web surfing is a lot faster since doing that.

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Jim

    I have Flash installed in PaleMoon but set to "always ask to Activate", I come across a site that demands flash at least once a day and that is a lot easier than installing and uninstalling. I do not use Adblock Plus but I do use NoScript and it some tomes (not often) that some sites take longer to load because they are waiting for confirmation of sites that are blocked.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2016-02-03)

  9. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    Jim

    I have Flash installed in PaleMoon but set to "always ask to Activate", I come across a site that demands flash at least once a day and that is a lot easier than installing and uninstalling. I do not use Adblock Plus but I do use NoScript and it some tomes (not often) that some sites take longer to load because they are waiting for confirmation of sites that are blocked.
    I wonder if Firefox allows me to set Flash to "always ask to activate". Can't check it now, because I'm at work.

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oops! Late at night, frustrated, not thinking. Win 8 (I believe, it's a newer hard drive, the old one was Win 7, so I think I got Win 8 for the new one.) Firefox for the browser.

    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    What OS? (Win7, Win8/8.1, Win10, etc). What browser? (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc).

    We don't think anything if you don't tell us enough about your setup!!!

  11. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    I wonder if Firefox allows me to set Flash to "always ask to activate". ...
    You set it up in Flash.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2016-02-04)

  13. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    ....I have installed Adblock Plus and NoScript....
    What? No Ghostery?

  14. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    FF has an option to "always ask". I use it instead of Flash Block and it works per page.

    cheers, Paul

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2016-02-04)

  16. #12
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    What? No Ghostery?
    I'll have to check out Ghostery.

  17. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, NoScript. I went to the site. I'd like some more opinions before I continue. It looks promising, I admit but I'm cautious. Any other possible explanations for the buzzes and whirls from my PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    I recommend that you install NoScript, and see if that fixes things.

    Here is more info: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ing-in-Firefox!

    To sum up: I have installed Adblock Plus and NoScript, and I have uninstalled Flash. My web surfing is a lot faster since doing that.

  18. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Something in my PC is making a distinct whirling sound again. Is this normal or should I replace something? I'm hoping it's not the hard drive, it's still reasonably new.

  19. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    362
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiger4 View Post
    Something in my PC is making a distinct whirling sound again. Is this normal or should I replace something? I'm hoping it's not the hard drive, it's still reasonably new.
    From the way it sounds, you have a desktop (not a laptop) computer. If this is the case, with the computer turned off, remove the left side computer case panel (looking at it from the front). Two screws usually hold it in place. With the case panel off you should be able to see the fans. Check to see if any cables or wires are near or touching any fans. If you don't see anything obvious, then turn on the computer and see if you can locate where the noise is coming from. This is just a suggestion, make sure you are well grounded before touching anything inside the computer. I'm suggesting this because I had the same problem where a small fan wire was touching a fan, and making a noise.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •