Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    The .NET Framework Repair Tool doesn't always work and uninstalling can be the best option, but you could try repairing v4.5.2 in Programs and Features by right clicking on it then click on Change where you get the repair options.

    Should it be your AV program that is causing the problem, then you could boot up into Safe Mode with Networking and try the direct download.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down....aspx?id=49982

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Yarra Glen, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 39 Times in 25 Posts
    There is also a .NET cleanup tool, which will "automatically perform a set of steps to remove selected versions of the .NET Framework from a computer. It will remove files, directories, registry keys and values and Windows Installer product registration information for the .NET Framework. The tool is intended primarily to return your system to a known (relatively clean) state in case you are encountering .NET Framework installation, uninstallation, repair or patching errors so that you can try to install again." It can be downloaded from http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/arc...8/8904493.aspx .

    I was having a similar problem on my Win7 system, and found that I had an apparently corrupted version of .NET 1.1 installed. Tried to uninstall it, using both Revo Pro and Programs and Features, but in each case I was told to insert the installation disk, which I did not have. So then I found this cleanup tool, and ran it against .NET 1.1. Then I went back to Revo and tried the uninstall again. This time I got a different message, to the effect of "cannot uninstall something which does not exist". Evidently the cleanup tool had removed the files, but not the registry entry. So then I let Revo do its advanced scan, where it found a heap of related registry entries, which I deleted. This removed .NET 1.1 from the list of installed programs. I then ran CCLEANER > Registry, which found another heap of entries related to .NET 1.1, so deleted these as well. (Yes, I did have a registry backup ....). Rebooted the system, came up OK, and a careful inspection indicated that I now had no version of .NET installed. I was then able to install version 4.6.1, via Windows Update and KB3102433, which worked perfectly.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bundaburra For This Useful Post:

    BHarder (2016-02-05),Fascist Nation (2016-02-05)

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    .... I am afraid that if I tried step 3 and removed the latest version I have which is 4.5.2 that I may not be able to install any versions....
    Windows does not need any .NET Framework version to run. Only apps which use that particular version of NF, in this case NF 4.x need it to run. What app(s) do you have that require NF 4.x?

    Uninstalling it (like that cleanup tool reference) should allow reinstalling the latest version. If not reinstalling an older version of 4.x should work with a report to Microsoft about this bug preventing 4.6x installation.

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    I am not sure what programs I might have that need NF. I just install it whenever MS gives me a WU on it.

    I guess I will make a system backup and then do step 3 of the link I provided earlier which is to run the clean up tool.

    I might not get to this right away, but will report back after I am finished.

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Ran the clean up tool. Rebooted and installed NF 1.1, NF 1.1 SP1 and NF 3.5 SP 2 as directed in the instructions. Rebooted and ran WU which showed that I needed NF 4.5.2 as important and 4.6.1 as optional. Tried running 4.5.2 as both web and non web installs and to the worst of my fears expressed earlier they would NOT install.

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    561
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    I too encountered a bizarre problem. I was trying to install an HP program and it complained that it would not run with .NET less than 3.5. Of course it simply halted at that point rather than offering to do something useful.

    What made this so bizarre was that this was a nearly new, bare metal install of Windows 10. It had .NET 4.6 installed and nothing else .NET related.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,581
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BHarder View Post
    I too encountered a bizarre problem. I was trying to install an HP program and it complained that it would not run with .NET less than 3.5. Of course it simply halted at that point rather than offering to do something useful.

    What made this so bizarre was that this was a nearly new, bare metal install of Windows 10. It had .NET 4.6 installed and nothing else .NET related.
    The installer likely has a defective mechanism for determining what .NET version is installed. Not all that unusual.

    Joe

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,581
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    Ran the clean up tool. Rebooted and installed NF 1.1, NF 1.1 SP1 and NF 3.5 SP 2 as directed in the instructions. Rebooted and ran WU which showed that I needed NF 4.5.2 as important and 4.6.1 as optional. Tried running 4.5.2 as both web and non web installs and to the worst of my fears expressed earlier they would NOT install.
    I'd run the cleanup tool again. Re-boot. Download the offline Microsoft .NET Framework 4.6.1 installer. Disconnect from the Internet. Disable your A/V. Install 4.6.1 using "run as administrator".

    Don't bother with the other older versions unless you have some software that complains.

    Joe

  11. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Just curious if uninstalling some pre-installed language packs might have something to do with this? Awhile back, I ran a popular disk cleanup utility and it offered to uninstall some Far Eastern language packs. This returned a fairly decent amount of disk space and as I do not think I will ever learn to write or speak an Asian language, I went for it. Not sure why MS insists on having all of these languages mandatory and not optional.

    I was not hurting for disk space, but will usually go for slimming down the system..

    Thanks

    I had no problems installing both of the 1.1 NF packs. The 3.5 pack is small and did not have a GUI. I downloaded it twice and ran the installer which appeared to do nothing. Did not see an entry in Control panel for it to be uninstalled either.

  12. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I'd run the cleanup tool again. Re-boot. Download the offline Microsoft .NET Framework 4.6.1 installer. Disconnect from the Internet. Disable your A/V. Install 4.6.1 using "run as administrator".

    Don't bother with the other older versions unless you have some software that complains.

    Joe
    Still no luck. Guess I will just run without and see what happens. If I never need it, then so much the better as I have gotten rid of something. If I end up needing it, I have a backup with a working 4.5.2.

    I usually try 2X with WU and then go grab the offline version of the update. I have done this with 4.5.2, 4.6.0 and 4.6.1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •