Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What am I missing re Outlook

    G'day all, I am running Win 10 and have installed MS office including Outlook. When ever I try to open this program I am reminded that I can't run this program due to insufficient memory. There is 4 GB of RAM installed and the PC idles at between 35-40% of RAM capacity. When I try to open Outlook there are no other programs running. So what is the deal here? What is happening? Next week this PC will have been upgraded to include 8 GB of RAM but I don't think that RAM is the issue. Any suggestions?
    Bruno Terlingen

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    The version of Outlook (e.g. 2003, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016) and the exact wording of the error message would probably help.

    This may apply: Error message in Outlook: "There is not enough free memory to run this program. Quit one or more programs, and then try again"
    Last edited by BruceR; 2016-02-09 at 21:20.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day Bruce, the version we are running is 2013 and indeed the quoted text above is the message displayed.
    I have just read the information in the link provided above and this pertains to 2003, though I will print this text and see where it leads.
    We have just upgrade from Win 7 to Win 10 and Outlook was not used prior to the upgrade, in fact we use OE on an XP machine for our emails. What I am saying is that this MS Office program was a brand new install after Win 10 was finally stable.
    Bruno Terlingen.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Most of the time the initial message is: Cannot start Microsoft Outlook. Some times your quoted text appears.
    Bruno Terlingen

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruno Terlingen View Post
    I have just read the information in the link provided above and this pertains to 2003, though I will print this text and see where it leads.
    2003 at the top is just a reminder/warning. "Applies to" at the bottom includes 2007/2010. It probably applies to 2013/2016 too. That's quite common for Office articles.

    This says it does still apply: Engineer blog post: Outlook 2013 error – There is not enough free memory to run this program
    Last edited by BruceR; 2016-02-09 at 22:42.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day Bruce, unbelievable that this issue is still ongoing without a fix. I will put more RAM in the PC in the next couple of days and if the issue is still there, I will do a regedit.
    Thank you.

    Bruno Terlingen

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day Bruce, I did as per instruction from MS (14 steps), and it made not a scrap of difference: Cannot Start Microsoft Outlook.

    Bruno Terlingen

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Have you re-installed Outlook?

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day Paul, no I have not re-installed Outlook, though it may have to be one of my last options. My wife uses Outlook at her school and they certainly don't have more RAM than us at home.
    Bruno Terlingen

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day all. I have re-installed Outlook and the same negative result. The odd thing is that yesterday my wife's laptop decided not to play ball so I re-installed a backup image and low and behold Outlook works on her laptop. By the way yesterday I also installed 2x4 GB of RAM for a total of 8 GB and this too made not a scrap of difference.
    Bruno Terlingen

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruno Terlingen View Post
    By the way yesterday I also installed 2x4 GB of RAM for a total of 8 GB and this too made not a scrap of difference.
    Bruno Terlingen
    That is entirely possible but a whole lot depends upon the programs being used and how many programs are open at the same time. I have 8GB on a Win7 computer with 2 separate instances of Firefox open and more than 4 tabs in one and 1 or 2 tabs in the other, performance is quite good. I don't run large spreadsheets or databases or video editing so probably would need even more RAM if I did. And I do use Help and Support's recommendation of 1.5 times physical RAM for the paging file/Virtual Memory.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Maybe it's a file corruption issue? Try "sfc /scannow".

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'day guys. Well it is not an RAM issue, because I have absolutely no other programs open apart from the OS. Moreover there are at present no emails in Outlook as I have not been able to get into it.
    Thank you Paul, I will try your suggesting, though you may like to tell me where I have to type in the "sfc/scannow". I typed it into the Run command and it could not find the file. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Bruno Terlingen.

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruno Terlingen View Post
    ...Thank you Paul, I will try your suggesting, though you may like to tell me where I have to type in the "sfc/scannow"...
    Type "cmd" (without quotes) into the Search box then right-click on "cmd" (black icon, usually at the top of the list) and left-click on "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt window.

    In the command prompt window type:

    sfc /scannow

    then press Enter.

    Note there is a space between sfc and the /
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Mr Coochin, fellow Queenslander. I did as suggested as per above and indeed some files appeared to be corrupt. On completion it mentioned that the necessary repairs had been made.
    I did a hot reboot, opened Outlook only to be confronted with "Cannot start Microsoft Outlook"
    Any other ideas are welcome.
    Bruno Terlingen

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •