Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    One for the Books!

    Hey Y'all,

    Ok can someone explain this one to me?

    Win 10 Pro fully updated (NOT Insider). Running PowerShell ISE 64 bit.

    Wife prints to network printer (Brother HL-5450DN) on LinkSys EA-4500 router.

    Closes down PowerShell! Pale Moon & Notepad++ also open not affected.

    It took me a while to figure out that this was what was causing PS to shutdown. When I got that far I figured it might be the current draw so I moved the printer from the same UPS (surge suppression only outlet) as my computer to another UPS. Next time she printed (I had her warn me so I took my hands off of the keyboard & mouse just to make sure it wasn't me) bye bye PS!

    Needless to say I'm feeling a bit snake-bit. BTW: this never happened until I upgraded to Win 10 under Win 8.1 it never happened.

    When I restart PS I get:
    PSMsg.PNG

    It usually recovers most of my recent changes but sometimes inserts unprintable characters which play heck with running the code!

    Ideas?

    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-02-11 at 14:00.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Geek, hello. I do not use PS at all, I just can not justify it thus I can not help you.

    But why not use the Taskbar instead of PS ? We are all different, I know. All fine wishes. Jean.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    But why not use the Taskbar instead of PS ? We are all different, I know. All fine wishes. Jean.


    Jean, you do know that PowerShell is a programming language, right? And that it is built into windows since 7.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,202
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    Them's impressive gremlins!

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    I'm not sure I follow... Are you saying that your wife prints something from her computer which shuts down programs on your computer?

    If you have a Brother printer then I'm guessing that you both have a printer utility that monitors the printer running on both of your computers. I have had no end of problems with those things over the years so the first thing I would be looking at is that (simply because so often in the past, they were poorly written and interfered with other things).
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Geek.

    >>> PowerShell is a programming language, right? And that it is built into windows since 7 <<<

    Yes, but I presume that you use it to run some apps, no ? My experience is that I can do this quick as a bunny, using the task bar. We are all different persons.

    All fine wishes. Jean.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    I presume that you use it to run some apps, no ? My experience is that I can do this quick as a bunny, using the task bar.
    Jean,

    Actually, mostly I use PowerShell to create apps. You can head over to the Windows Programming forum for some examples of what I've been up to lately.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek
    Ideas?
    Well, you know exactly when it happens but not what causes it. I guess you've already tried running Process Monitor and monitoring/capturing events as they happen.

    Have you tried CurrentPorts with logging enabled?

    currports_logging.png
    Click to enlarge

    I find that sometimes 'less is more'. ProcMon produces a huge amount of info... and there are times when it's just nice to have a simple log of network activity without being inundated.

    Have you tried AppCrashView? It doesn't say it but it does work in Windows 10.

    Hope this helps...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •