Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    100% CPU but NO APPLICATION open

    i have just re-installed W7 home premium.
    i am finding that OCASSIONALLY, the machine slows down, and i have 100% CPU usage!!!

    please help,

    TIA.


    daniel rozenberg.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Have you used Task Manager or Process Explorer to see what is hogging the CPU?

    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    yes, i searched the web nd it appears that it is a process svchost that appears to cause it, but there are many of them running and don't know which one is the culprit

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danielr2 View Post
    yes, i searched the web and it appears that it is a process svchost that appears to cause it, but there are many of them running and don't know which one is the culprit

    did task manager > performance > resource monitor > average CPU shows that svchost.exe takes more than 50% , so with right click i SUSPENDED it, but still problem remains

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Use Process Monitor. There will be more information to go on. You can see what each instance of svchost is housing.

    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    this problem started this morning after MS automatically downloaded 38 updates (it took 2 1/2 hours the reboot and configuration).
    so, did a system restore, and turned auto updates OFF, they will be reported to me and I'll choose which ones to take.
    i ADMIT, it's NOT the solution of the problem, just a mitigation, but at this SPECIFIC moment, i don't have time to learn Process Monitor (i downloaded it, as well as a tutor on how to use it).
    THANKS everybody for your help and assistance.

    dr

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    My W7 laptop used to to that so I upgraded to W10 - after making an image to an external disk.
    CPU use is now very low.
    Me happy.
    + you get pretty lock screen pictures...

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    i DO APOLOGIZE to the forum:
    my UTTER STUPIDITY
    lemme explain:
    every Saturday, i regularly [i'd say religiously], i backup my C:\ drive and my work & data (in the other partition of my HDD) to an external Western Digital 200Gb Passport external HDD using EaseUS TodoBackup; plugging it into a USB port.
    inadvertently, after the backup, i left plugged in.
    as soon as i removed it, the CPU usage came back to less of 100%.

    dr

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    No problem. Glad you figured it out. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •