Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Win-10 activation W-7.

    Hello. This is old stuff but I can not find relevant information on it. Case : I got a new motherboard for an Acer, installed it then loaded W-7 SP1, it is declared Genuine by looking at it.
    Now, I try to get W-10 installed but it will not accept the W-7 keys, I got the keys via Keyfinder, same keys as I had before, no monkey business.
    I did find some information but it only confirms what I am trying to do here. What is the secret ?

    Would it help if I upgraded to W-8.1 first ?

    All fine wishes. Jean.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Hello. This is old stuff but I can not find relevant information on it. Case : I got a new motherboard for an Acer, installed it then loaded W-7 SP1, it is declared Genuine by looking at it.
    Now, I try to get W-10 installed but it will not accept the W-7 keys, I got the keys via Keyfinder, same keys as I had before, no monkey business.
    I did find some information but it only confirms what I am trying to do here. What is the secret ?

    Would it help if I upgraded to W-8.1 first ?

    All fine wishes. Jean.
    Since you have SP1 installed on your Win7 you should be able to get it fully up-to-date [may take awhile and a few tries] which within just a few days will put the GWX [GetWindows10] icon in the Notification Area then you can work through getting the free Upgrade. I've done nearly 2 dozen computers that way without major issue, one Notebook did need new Bluetooth drivers but the manufacturer of it already had them available on their Support site, not all vendors are that good.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The upgrade process is bulking at your new motherboard. Are you sure Windows 7 was properly updated & activated?
    You might need to place a call to MS to resolve.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Clint. Yes, the W-7 was validated with its keys, it showed the icon Genuine in the Properties page. Still at it.

    All fine wishes. Jean.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello Berton. You wrote at me :

    Since you have SP1 installed on your Win7 you should be able to get it fully up-to-date [may take awhile and a few tries] which within just a few days will put the GWX [GetWindows10] icon in the Notification Area then you can work through getting the free Upgrade.

    I did not have to wait that long. All of a sudden, the "You want Win-10" was on my screen. I acquiesced the invite and away it went. Too far away, if I may say so, it has been "Checking for Updates" for the last couple of hours.

    This is on an Acer that got zapped by a current spike. I got a replacement MoBo and started rebuilding it. It ran quite nicely on W-7 but looking for punishment, I opted to get W-10 on it. Should I power it off ? It seems to be stuck.

    All fine wishes to you too. Jean.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    ...it has been "Checking for Updates" for the last couple of hours...
    The last few times I have run WU on Win7 computers after fixing problems w/ WU not working it has taken more than two hours to check for updates.

    Best to just leave it do it's thing.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Hello Clint. Yes, the W-7 was validated with its keys, it showed the icon Genuine in the Properties page. Still at it.

    All fine wishes. Jean.
    The important part of an install is the Activation part, not just the Genuine part.
    Activation.png

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Berton, good morn.

    Indeed, I see this Activated line here together with the Genuine icon. I will give the update another try today and be more patient as Coochin mentioned. This is still an ongoing experience.

    All fine wishes. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •