Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts

    Windows 7 can't find DD-WRT-attached NAS

    I have a new dd-wrt router. I found some very clear instructions here
    https://www.bestvpn.com/blog/8798/us...r-nas-storage/
    on how to set it up. As far as I can tell, the router stuff is configured correctly.
    In windows 7, under my network tab, I see the router (called DD-WRT) and the name I gave it, ROUTERNAS. But when I click on it, windows says "cant find ROUTERNAS" Under 'see details' it says " network path not found".


    I have tried adding a user, does not help.

    I feel it's a windows thing, but I am not sure what to try.
    the drive is a 5 gig WD usb 3 drive formatted NTFS.
    Last edited by dalejanus; 2016-02-22 at 22:22.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    In the Responses section of the article you referenced, did you read the comment by James Turner (posted January 7, 2016 at 5:32 am) about DD-WRT not seeing USB 3 drives? Can you test this by temporarily substituting the USB 3 drive with a USB 2 drive or stick?

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    In the Responses section of the article you referenced, did you read the comment by James Turner (posted January 7, 2016 at 5:32 am) about DD-WRT not seeing USB 3 drives? Can you test this by temporarily substituting the USB 3 drive with a USB 2 drive or stick?

    Hope this helps...
    I thought that was for buffalo routers, but you are correct, it is worth trying. I will give it a shot tonight.

    ---Dale

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dalejanus
    I thought that was for buffalo routers, but you are correct, it is worth trying.
    I read it as DD-WRT itself rather than the hardware it's running on. Hope it's relevant though. Let us know the outcome.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Connecting via the IP address is also worth a shot.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Connecting via the IP address is also worth a shot.

    cheers, Paul
    I did try that, but got same result, windows can't find it. It's frustrating because it shows up in windows network folder.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    What shows up in Windows network folder? The router, the disk or both?
    If you connect to the router with your browser you should be able to see if the disk is recognised.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    nas problem.jpgerror message.jpg

    Here are some screen shots of the error messages. I was not able to try a usb 2 hub, I will do that over the weekend.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Looks like a management issue on the router. What does the router screen show as the disk status and permissions?

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    i put in a usb 2 hub, connected usb 3 wd drive to it, and restarted router and result was the same. windows 7 sees it but can't access.

    here are two screen shots of my router. I wonder if the router can't see NTFSrouter screen1.JPGrouter screen2.JPG

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Your second screenshot suggests it recognises the NTFS filesystem on SDA1 without any problems but for some reason also shows a bootloader?

    Do you not have an NTFS-formatted USB 2 stick you can use to temporarily substitute for the USB 3 HD, just to test the router's recognition in the USB port?

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Looks OK in DD-WRT. Showing the bootloader is OK.
    Right click on the disk in W7, select Properties > Security. What are the settings?

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Looks OK in DD-WRT. Showing the bootloader is OK.
    Right click on the disk in W7, select Properties > Security. What are the settings?

    cheers, Paul
    There are no security settings

    router screen3.JPG
    when I click network tab, I get these errors:

    router screen4.JPGrouter screen5.JPG

    I can try using a thumb drive and play around with that.

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    warren, ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 13 Times in 6 Posts
    I have put a usb 2 hub between the drive and the router. but I can try a thumb drive.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Your latest screenshots suggests it's a permissions issue. I'm a bit hazy on this but it sounds like your PC is saying 'Hey' and the remote share (via Samba) is replying 'I don't understand'. Perhaps it doesn't understand Windows 7's default encryption method when it comes to file sharing, i.e. it can see the mounted remote drive but go no further?

    If you go to the Network and Sharing Center, scroll down and expand the Public area then - in the File sharing connections section - change the encryption method from 128-bit to 40-bit then try again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •