Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pawleys Island, SC, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question How to test a clone

    I cloned a new SSD (256GB Samsung) to an identical SSD thru USB to a docking station. I used Acronis 2013 which reported the cloning was successful. I can see the files on the clone and it looks OK.

    I don't trust anything so I would like to boot from the clone. Simplest would be to boot from USB which is an option in the BIOS (Dell XPS 8700) but it will not boot. Acronis says Windows will not boot from USB. There are webpages for other computers which discuss how to boot from USB.

    Anyone know how to get a Dell to boot from USB? Dell Techsupport says they can't answer for Acronis.

    Swapping the SSDs is not an option. The SSD is screwed to the motherboard.

    Think of another way to check the clone?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    I can't remember, does Acronis, after you boot into it via either usb-boot-stick or boot-dvd, have a menu item that lets you verify the clone? I know of no way to boot Windows prime via any external media.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I've never used Acronis, I have alway's cloned with Casper. The only way I know of to actually test the clone is to swap the drives and boot from it since Acronis says that it will not boot from USB. I find it hard to believe that Acronis said "Acronis says Windows will not boot from USB". Makes me glad that I use Casper as it will boot from USB or swapping drives on windows.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pawleys Island, SC, USA
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. That is a good suggestion. Unfortunately, I could not find such an option and Acronis tech support did not suggest anything like that. Maybe they added that for 2016 - not 2013. I shall pass that along to them.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by heritage View Post
    Acronis says Windows will not boot from USB. There are webpages for other computers which discuss how to boot from USB.

    Anyone know how to get a Dell to boot from USB? Dell Techsupport says they can't answer for Acronis.

    Swapping the SSDs is not an option. The SSD is screwed to the motherboard.

    Think of another way to check the clone?
    Acronis is right your clone will not boot on USB w/o a huge bit of tinkering and/or 3rd party s/w I would not trust. Linux is easy in this regard BTW.

    The SSD is screwed to the motherboard.
    And I would say so are you if your SSD fails.

    This looks like a desktop strange that it would have a drive soldered to the MB. The Dell blurp says it is expandable, is there an internal SATA connector available perhaps from the Optical drive? If not a PCI SATA card may be your only option.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    The Dell blurp says it is expandable, is there an internal SATA connector available perhaps from the Optical drive?
    The specs say that it will support 1-SSD and 3-HDD and ( as David suggests ) if there is a SATA connector for an OD I assume that you could change the boot order. Is that what you were leading to David?
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2016-02-23 at 19:13.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Rather than clone - and waste a disk - image the disk and verify the image. Then you can restore when you really need to - and make a copy of the image for extra security.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    Acronis is right your clone will not boot on USB w/o a huge bit of tinkering and/or 3rd party s/w I would not trust. Linux is easy in this regard BTW.

    And I would say so are you if your SSD fails.

    This looks like a desktop strange that it would have a drive soldered to the MB. The Dell blurp says it is expandable, is there an internal SATA connector available perhaps from the Optical drive? If not a PCI SATA card may be your only option.

    Screwed, not soldered. It's probably an mSATA or M2 socketed drive. You should be able to undo the screw and carefully lift it out.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Guys, I think Acronis is correct. Ok, we all know Windows prime, after computer post, will boot up to its normal user desktop from either the boot-stuff on drive C or the boot-stuff within System Reserved. I know of no way to usb-boot or DVD-boot into Windows prime and reach the normal desktop. What Acronis and Macrium and many other programs can do is usb-boot and/or dvd-boot into a WinPE environment or into a Windows' rescue/repair menu board. I have never seen such external boots ever get into Windows' normal user desktop.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •