Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: XP Pro SP3 iso?

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP Pro SP3 iso?

    I am trying to set up VirtualBox on a couple of new W10 installations - still have a few old games and other XP software I want to keep available. I have original XP Pro installation media and license keys, but nothing with SP3 on it. Links on the MS technet site all come up with not available now. Anyone know a safe site for full iso download of XP now? Thanx

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,648
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    There are a few sites offering a XP SP3 ISO download but I haven't checked them out to see if they are still active, but as you can still get Windows Updates up until the last ones for XP, you may get the SP through those - but you can check these sites out to see if they give you what you want.

    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=xp+sp3+iso+download

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    WSUSOffline 9.2.1 last version that supports XP (Legacy tab) with ALL updates.

    http://download.wsusoffline.net/

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXAOvbNJYyE

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanx guys - I'll check those out. I went ahead and installed the base XP and the .iso SP2 that I had made years ago and all is working fine in VirtualBox. I don't really intend on allowing this old OS to get out to the internet, but I'd still like to have it as up to date as possible.

    So far I am really pleased with the way VirtualBox has been working and the ease of setup. The wife is happy to have her old board and card games back, and I'm looking forward to revisiting Myst and Riven! Wish I had tried this years ago.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,648
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    If everything is working as it should then you may not need SP3, but you will have FN's link to fall back on.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,383
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    If you still have a box w/ WXP on it you could make a Virtual Machine from that disk with Sysinternals tool

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/ee656415

    Legalities not considered of course.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,159
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Direct download link for SP3 for XP: http://download.windowsupdate.com/ms...2300ebfde4.exe

    The link is to the .exe file, so after you click it you will need to save the .exe somewhere. Don't click on 'Run', especially if you aren't downloading using an XP system.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •