Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question OK to install the SP2 equivalent... over SP1?

    My windowssecrets newsletter posted this SP2... for a "New" system install, but I'm wondering if it's OK for an already installed system that's running good?-

    The best way to rebuild Windows 7 from scratch

    "Download the equivalent of “Service Pack 2”
    Microsoft has never released an official SP2 for Win7, despite requests for it from many MS customers. The closest we can get is an enterprise rollup, KB 2775511. This bundle of updates includes over 90 hotfixes released after SP1.

    You find the download for the rollup on the Microsoft Update Catalog site. In Internet Explorer (you must use IE), enter 2775511 in the upper-right search bar and click Search. If an ActiveX control pops up (see Figure 3) requesting access, allow it; it’s needed to download the patch."

    My System Specs
    Win 7 Pro (x86), i5-2500 CPU @ 3.7GHz. ESET Smart Security v8, and no other active anti-alware.
    Free On-Demand- EmsiSoft Kit, old MBAM (No Pro!).
    Auslogics free defrag .
    Last edited by satrow; 2016-02-26 at 17:55.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,103
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,164 Times in 1,019 Posts
    If your PC is up-to-date with patches and running well don't mess with it.

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    +1

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,148
    Thanks
    311
    Thanked 228 Times in 189 Posts
    Joe and FN's advice is always good but just to add to the conversation, the KB 2775511 "Hotfix's and Security Enhancements" rollup came out in March of 2013 and I installed it in April 2013 with no detrimental effects, however there have been many updates since then so it may not be necessary anymore.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    If your PC is up-to-date with patches and running well don't mess with it.

    Joe
    Thanks!- I will Not apply this patch, as I have messed up my system Many times trying to make it better! "if it ain't broke don't fix it"!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    812
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 102 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scottls1 View Post
    I have messed up my system Many times trying to make it better! "if it ain't broke don't fix it"!
    Fyi in case you're not aware: always avoid any driver updates offered by MS Update. Those can be the biggest 'system messer uppers' of all.

    Rule of thumb is not to update drivers on a working machine unless you have a known specific reason. If you must, get them from the hardware maker's website.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •