Thanks

Can't Save Mail Merge Document

I've been doing this for many months in Word 2010 running under Window 7: Open my mail merge document, say Yes when it asks about the data source (a named range on an Excel sheet), merge a few new records from the data source into a new document, Directoryn. Then set the mail merge document to the last record in the data source and save it with changes.

It has become a familiar and almost automatic process.

A few days ago I upgraded to Windows 10, and things no longer work as they did before. Everything is fine until I try to save the mail merge document with changes. At that point I get this error message:

Capture.PNG
    The document just refuses to save. I CAN save it without changes, though. Pressing the Help button doesn't give much help -- I can't figure out what File Permission Error is behind the problem.

I'd REALLY like to save the changed document. What's going on here?
    Last edited by Lou Sander; 2016-02-27 at 21:24. Reason: Be more specific about the data source
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

Super Moderator
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Lou Sander View Post
    Then set the mail merge document to the last record in the data source and save it with changes.

... Everything is fine until I try to save the mail merge document with changes. ...
    The document just refuses to save. I CAN save it without changes, though. Pressing the Help button doesn't give much help -- I can't figure out what File Permission Error is behind the problem.
    Your description suggests you're trying to save a preview of the mailmerge main document and you're never actually executing the merge. That's really not how mailmerges are supposed to be done - you're supposed to execute them and save the output file. That said, can you save the file via SaveAs with a new name?
    Cheers,

Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Thanks