Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Office 365 has broken my Outlook

    I run Outlook from a hosted exchange server. It is working just fine on my main computer and my Apple phone, but I also have it installed on a Dell Ultrabook (XPS11). I am also using Office 365 on this machine. All was (relatively) well until the middle of last week, when Outlook disconnected from my Exchange server and refused to reconnect. As far as I could tell, this was an upgrade to Outlook 2016 that caused it to break.

    Reading various forums I found I was not alone in this issue. In fact Microsoft now puts a disclaimer on the Office 365-2016 install page that says that it does not work with Outlook!!! Don't you just love it?

    Anyway, based on experience from others I removed Office 365-2016 and reinstalled the 2013 version. However, my Outlook (now 2013) still will not connect to the exchange server - it sits there for the longest time with the little dots rolling across the screen, before giving me a message that says "The connection to Microsoft Exchange is unavailable. Outlook must be online or connected to complete this action", even though the computer is connected to the internet.

    I have tried removing the profile and re-assigning it, all to no avail. I can see an OST file in the appropriate folder but it is empty (zero K).

    All suggestions will be gratefully received.

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    I would check to see which Windows and Office updates were installed (and maybe any other updates) right before the failure occurred. Make note of them, uninstall them, and then reboot, to see if Outlook now works. If it works after doing that, then you know that one (or more) of the ones you uninstalled was the culprit.

    Make sure you do a backup of your system before doing this.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Jim,

    The only update around that time was KB3035583 - the Windows 10 nagging update! I have removed that but it did not solve the problem.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I know now it's too late, but removing Office 2016 is probably not the way to go. I had a different problem with Office 2016 and solved it by stopping updates and reverting to a previous Office 2016 version. This link explains how to do it, at the bottom of the article:

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3145116
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried to follow the instructions but there is no .exe file in the Clicktorun directory. Also, I'm using Office 365 Home version, not pro.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Can you provide a link to the page with the disclaimer?

    If Outlook 2016 connection to Exchange was working and then failure, the failures are often because of an issue at the Exchange server. Sometimes a firewall change can be a problem. Did you try any of the suggestions at Fix Outlook connection problems in Office 365 and Exchange Online?

    Joe

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Joe,

    There is no link to the disclaimer, it shows up when you try to do an install for Office 365-2016 (home version).

    As I said at the beginning, Exchange is working just fine on my main PC (running the full version of Outlook 2007 as part of the Office Ultimate suite), and also on my iPhone, so I do not think this is an Exchange problem.

    Furthermore, I cannot connect with this Ultrabook at a number of locations (work, home, hotel, etc..) so I do not think it's a network firewall issue. I have also tried turning off the internal firewall (Norton 360) to no avail.

    I tried the link to the page you suggested. The auto fix link sends me to the sign-in page for office school or work versions. I have the Home version, so I cannot login with that link. Looking at the manual options, all my windows updates are current, and trying to run the profile repair from the Mail link on the Control Panel page just results in the same problems I reported at the beginning.

    Keith

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by damnlimey View Post
    I tried to follow the instructions but there is no .exe file in the Clicktorun directory. Also, I'm using Office 365 Home version, not pro.
    The advice is for Office 365 Home, which is what I have installed, as well. I cannot explain the absence of the file, though. Have you tried opening a command window, and pasting the full command line there and then executing it?

    "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft shared\ClickToRun\officec2rclient.exe" /update user updatetoversion=16.0.6366.2068
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Even though there is a C:\Program[space]Files directory, when I paste this into the run line I get an error that says "Windows cannot find C:\Program"

    Keith

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Did you include the double quotes at the beginning and the end of the first bit i.e. "C:\program files\ ....exe"?
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Did you include the double quotes at the beginning and the end of the first bit i.e. "C:\program files\ ....exe"?
    Yes, you absolutely need to include the quotes!
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    I'm not sure if I am helping, but I am running Outlook 2016 from my MSDN subscription (part of Office 2016) and it works fine with Office 365.

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •