Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    682
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 82 Times in 72 Posts

    Change "windows default" Text Encoding

    I guess this is more a Windows than Word question.

    When I save a file as Plain Text in Word, I get the File Conversion dialog box to make the text encoding choice. It's set to "windows default" which is "western european (windows)" in my setup. I have to go thru the selection of my preferred UTF-8 each time.

    Is there a way I can make UTF-8 the windows default?
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    682
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 82 Times in 72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh View Post
    Is there a way I can make UTF-8 the windows default?
    I hope one bump is ok. This continues to be a regular minor annoyance.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,616
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 703 Times in 565 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh
    Is there a way I can make UTF-8 the windows default?
    Doesn't look like it, from my experiments with a new Windows 7 x64 VM.

    UTF-8 equates to codepage 65001 but this codepage apparently isn't implemented natively. By that I mean that if you change the value of the ACP key (HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Nls\CodePag e\ACP) - i.e. the 'Windows Default' from its default value (mine shows 1252) to 65001 and reboot, Windows won't start properly. Instead it will carry out an automatic Startup Repair and revert the value to 1252.

    Have a look at Setting UTF8 as default Character Encoding in Windows 7 and UTF-8 Everywhere for more info.

    Hope this helps...

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    Lugh (2016-04-16)

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    682
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 82 Times in 72 Posts
    Thanks Rick, I appreciate the summary and links. My brain protests whenever I start reading about Geronimo and Pocahontas [big endian and little endian] and similar at the second link

    I will settle for being minorly annoyed then, until I get around to making a mouse macro for the task.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •