Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: system tray

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    system tray

    Sometimes 1) I have something in the sys tray that I don't want there, and sometimes 2) I don't have something there that I want there.

    1) AOL IM and Morpheus are examples of programs that open in front of other things when I boot up and make an appearance in the sys tray -- I already have shortcuts to those programs to get to them when I want, which is not every time I start my machine. How do keep them from opening each time I boot up?

    2) Sometimes when I'm online, I see an icon, representing my connectivity, in the sys tray, and I can see when data is moving and I can right-click on it to check the status of my connection. At other times, I am connected, but the icon is missing from the sys tray. How do I get the icon to consistently be there whenever I'm connected?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    The easiest way to kill of AIM and Morpheus is to open MSCONFIG from Start --> Run. Remove the checkboxes next to their entries on the startup tab. FYI, most programs offer a way to do this but it is different for each one, and this is the simplest - it removes the registry entry jsust as the program does.

    The online icon is probably being hidden automatically. To change that, right click on the system tray select properties, and navigate to the section where you can customize the hiding of icons. For each one that ppears there is a picture of it, and a drop down box - always show, always hide, hide automatically. For example, I hide a few things consistently, such as the Norton AV icon - but I can get to it when I want to disable it by clicking on the little arrow by the clock. That should take care of the connection icon for you.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    it doesn't remove the reg entry - it moves it to a new location so it can be restored. if you want it dead forever, either deleted the key or set the options in the apps. i think both programs have the option to not load at start up. For aim, right click on the icon in the tray and choose preferences, general tab. unchekc, start when windows starts. I'm not sure on Morp, it's only on my kids computers. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I don't have a problem with my connection icon ever hiding, but hten it's always busy since i connect using terminal server. if you have several acounts, maybe not all are enabled to show in the tray. You'll need ot change that on the properties sheet for the connection.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    My terminology was a bit off - it moves the HKCUSoftwareCurrentVersionRun to Run- <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    I was also thinking that this was a dial-up connection, which by default would show, but XP likes to hide things that have sat for a time as well - including my nifty little "new mail" envelope which has created about ten entries in the list of tray icons! <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    Mark, thanks for your reply. Using MSCONFIG got rid of the problem programs from the startup activity, but the online icon is not just hidden -- It's not in the sys tray at all. Can you tell me how to get it there so that it will be there every time I'm online?

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    In Mary's post she indicated that you could turn this feature on or off for all network connections - and that's what your dial up is. To get there, you need to open the Network Connections folder, find your dial-up's icon, and right click. Select Properties. On the very first tab that appears, you should see a check box at the bottom that reads Show icon in taskbar when connected - ten to one there's no check in the box, so put one there, click OK, and you should be in business.

    Since I'm not looking at an XP machine I might have the process a little off....but either way the checkbox is there in the connection's properties page.

    Cheers! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    open the internet connection from the network applet in control panel or the connect to menu on the start menu and click the properties option. at the botton of the property sheet is a show icon when connected checkbox.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: system tray

    Thanks to both of you -- looks like I've got a fix!
    Keep warm,
    Howie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •