Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Imaging when 2 HDDs installed.

    Prior to upgrading, to Windows 10, the first of our PCs I intend to use Macrium Reflect Free to image the drives.
    Have never used it before....or done this action before.
    Our PCs are Windows 8.1 with a 120 GB SSD and a 1 TB drive for storage.
    Do I simply image both drives at the same time or select them separately?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,777
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,551 Times in 1,405 Posts
    EJB,

    Welcome to the Lounge as a new poster!

    With Macrium Reflect you can do either. Personally, I'd recommend doing them separately, YMMV! HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    EJB986 (2016-03-06)

  4. #3
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,521
    Thanks
    266
    Thanked 162 Times in 151 Posts
    You are imaging to an exterior drive, right?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    EJB986 (2016-03-06)

  6. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,686
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 1,065 Times in 990 Posts
    All you really need is the SSD because that is where you have installed Windows, but a full backup to an external disk is always a good idea.
    BTW, you might find Aomei Backupper easier to use than Macrium and it has more features in the free version.

    cheers, Paul

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    EJB986 (2016-03-06)

  8. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for your comments....pleased I found this forum.....been around from the beginning....of computers that is!!!
    Have two newish desktops built to the same spec (Windows 8.1) and a laptop on Windows 7 which is only used when we are away from home.
    The laptop isn't important and is replaceable!
    The desktops are backed up monthly to old HDDs (in caddies/enclosures from our last PCs).
    Have never cloned/imaged before but been promising myself I will do it....my PC builder has images but that is getting inconvenient.

    Will do the HDDs separately and like the look of Aomei Backupper as it does look very simple.

    Again, Thank you one and all!
    Last edited by EJB986; 2016-03-06 at 02:59.

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,889
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 143 Times in 140 Posts
    Make sure you make a usb boot-stick and/or a DVD boot with the imaging software on it. If you ever have to restore: an OS partition image, or a data partition image, or clone onto the original hard-drive [from your backup clone hard-drive] -- you will have to boot that usb stick or dvd.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •