Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    TeamViewer: Cannot Assign Device to My Account

    I use TeamViewer to access my other computers from the one I am currently sitting at.

    Yesterday, after I applied all Windows/Microsoft Updates, TeamViewer on my older Toshiba Satellite A665 would no longer connect to my other computers nor would my other computers connect to it.

    On the main TeamViewer window, I noticed that unlike the computers where things were OK, the Assign Device to Account (I'm not positive if I have the wording correct) line was not checked. When I tried to assign the computer, up popped the dialog to assign the computer to my account, I clicked OK as my account email was displayed as expected, but after a coupe of seconds, the dialog closed and nothing changed on the Assign Device line. This issue was still present after completely uninstalling TeamViewer, rebooting the computer and reinstalling TeamViewer.

    I also noticed under Options>Security the Use Easy Access or something to that effect was greyed out on the A665, but not on my other computers.

    One additional point is that on my Dell Inspiron desktop, it was not assigned to my account. When I did as I did on the A665, things worked as expected.

    EDIT: Something else that I observed is that the A665 display did not go off after it was sitting idle that it did previously.

    I am suspicious that something with the updates on the Dell and A665, both Win7 Home Premium, affected TeamViewer. The effect on the Dell was minor and fixed without issue. However, on the A665, the effect has been more pronounced and I may have to roll back the updates and see if the issue is corrected. I had no issue on my new Satellite S50 C running Win7 Pro.

    Has anyone else had this issue with Team Viewer and resolved it?

    If I roll back the Updates, would it be better to uninstall them one at a time? All at once using System Restore? Restore my system using its most recent backup?
    Last edited by WildcatRay; 2016-03-11 at 14:34. Reason: See "EDIT" iabove.
    Ray
    OS: 2 computers w/ Win7 Home Premium 64-bit & 2 computer w/ Windows 10 AU Pro (1607)
    Antivirus: Kaspersky; Anti-malware: SpywareBlaster, Malwarebytes, SuperAntiSpyware

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    TeamViewer (TV) is excellent. Unfortunately, because it has so many configuration options (and because obviously it depends on core network connectivity and security), more info is needed about how you use it. These are the sorts of things to look at:

    All devices:
    1. What version of TV are you using? (Current version is 11.0.56083)
    2. Do you use the same version of TV on all devices? (There can be connection issues with mis-matched versions.)
    3. Is TV set to auto update on all devices?

    Toshiba Satellite A665:
    1. Is TV installed in Host mode on your devices (i.e. runs as a service, as opposed to running from a RUN entry in the Registry or a startup folder)?
    2. If so, is the TV service running? (Use Task Manager > Services or run services.msc.)
    3. If the TV service is not running, have you tried starting the service?
    4. Conversely, if the TV service is running, have you tried stopping and restarting the service?
    5. Have you tried right-clicking on the TV icon in the Notification Area and selecting the top option of Show status dialog (only available in Host mode) to see whether TV shows Ready to connect (secure connection)?
    6. Do you use TV in LAN mode? (i.e. if the Toshiba Satellite A665 is not connected to the internet then, in TeamViewer options, Incoming LAN connections must be set to accept or accept exclusively instead of deactivated.)
    7. If you can use LAN mode (i.e. Incoming LAN connections is set to accept or accept exclusively), have you tried connecting using the IP address of the Toshiba Satellite A665 instead of the ID?
    8. If you don't use LAN mode (i.e. Incoming LAN connections is set to deactivated), does the Toshiba Satellite A665 have an internet connection?
    9. Is Windows Firewall running and, if so, is it configured to allow TV? (There should be 2 inbound rules for the TV RC application and, if installed in Host mode, 2 more for the RC service.)
    10. As you use an account (which isn't necessary for TV to work), have you tried clearing the list of blocked accounts, just in case?
      TV_clear.png
      Click to enlarge
    11. Have you tried un-installing/reinstalling TV?
    12. Are you having any other network-related issues with the Toshiba Satellite A665?

    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-03-11 at 10:34. Reason: Added numbering to make it easier

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    WildcatRay (2016-03-11)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Well, the A665 just made a liar out of me. I was able to set it up without issue. I connected to the others from and can connect to it from the others

    Go figure!

    Thanks for your help. It was much more than I could find on TV's FAQ.
    Ray
    OS: 2 computers w/ Win7 Home Premium 64-bit & 2 computer w/ Windows 10 AU Pro (1607)
    Antivirus: Kaspersky; Anti-malware: SpywareBlaster, Malwarebytes, SuperAntiSpyware

  5. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Excellent. Thanks for letting us know.

    Quote Originally Posted by WildcatRay
    It was much more than I could find on TV's FAQ.
    It helps to have been using TeamViewer corporately since v5 on 6,000+ devices for many years before retiring.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •