Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    OS Deletes Old Restore Points Prematurely

    Hi all:

    I have documented the following phenomenon on my Win 10 PC, but will simply post the question for now.

    Specifically, I have of my system drive (232 GB) reserved for restore points. Yet the OS deletes old restore points when only 11 or so GB of disk space are being used. On my system, this means that about 14 to 15 restore points are retained at any one time. All older ones are removed. This, despite the fact that I have reserved almost 20 times the disk space being utilized.

    Any one else experiencing this or something similar?

    Thanks in advance.

    Duncan

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    I checked to see how this was setup on my (relatively) new Win10 computer and was surprised to find that it is turned off by default. I'm not sure why this is or why the setting is somewhat hard to find.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    On 8/4/2015 when I originally upgraded W7 to W10 build 10240, System restore was turned off by the W10 upgrade so I had to find it and turn it ( and all the settings ) on.
    When I used the MCT to install the W10 ver 1511 build 10586.71 update, system restore was still on but all previous restore points were gone and it started anew.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    When I used the MCT to install the W10 ver 1511 build 10586.71 update, system restore was still on but all previous restore points were gone and it started anew.
    Yes. That's been commented on before and it does seem strange, but version upgrades wipe prior restore points.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •