Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Task Scheduler settings

    I have a task that creates a restore point. I have it set, I thought, to create a point whether the user is logged on or not. But it doesn't seem to do that. If I log out of the user that created the RP, and log in as another user, no RP gets created it seems.

    Does that qualifier only mean when no user is logged in? Is there a way to set it so that a RP will be created regardless of which user is logged in?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi Chuck! No one seems to be replying to your thread. IMHO W10 leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to creating Restore points.
    My W10 OS seldom creates a RP. When I ran W7 It was always creating restore points after up dates and ect. I have given up and I create a restore point manually when ever I make changes on my PC. It's a great feature, but I don't rely on it. I haven't found any rhyme or reason when it decides to create a RP. When ever It feels like it, I guess. Sorry that's the best I can do. If you find any information about this, please post it here.
    Here's all my restore points. I haven't deleted any???
    Capture48.JPG

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Unfortunately, holdum, what you are saying seem to be the case. There have been times when an RP saved my hide, but then just as many times when I went looking for one in order to recover from a situation, and there were none! Research and commentary on this board has led me to the realization that, especially if one is installing Insider (test) builds of W10, that it will indiscriminately delete any RP's present -- very poor idea in my mind. But, aside from that, I have been trying to monitor the process, and RP's get erased even without any major upgrade in process, and, just as disturbing, the Task Scheduler seems undependable in its own right for scheduling RP creation. Fortunately, or maybe not so, when I come across this type of inexplicable happening, it just makes me more set on finding the reason and a solution.

    Here's hoping!

    Chuck

    I thought I'd also include a graphic. These are supposed to be created every fifteen minutes. H-m-m-m-m...

    RP.png
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2016-03-21 at 02:17. Reason: Add
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hey Chuck! I'm routing for you to find the solution to this. The one thing I have been able to find out is that MS stopped creating restore points after critical windows up dates on W10. That's a bad decision IMHO. On my W7,restore points were created after MS critical up dates were installed. I always have my Macrium Reflect handy to get me out of a bad situation.
    I have had some success with restore points; but like you said, they aren't all that reliable. I would like them to at least be a option to try however.
    I'll be here waiting for you to solve this my fiend!
    Good luck!

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Stockbridge,VT
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Right now I have 20 restore points dating back to 12/31/2015. All were created after critical updates and most seem to be 3-4 days apart. Maybe it's best to just let system restore do it's thing on it's own schedule.

    Rich

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,575
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Several things:

    1.) when you install a new Insider Preview version it is treated as a Windows version upgrade. All prior RPs are deleted just as they have been in the past when you installed a new version of Windows or dual booted between versions. Rolling back to an RP before a new version install makes no sense.

    2.) Restore points are created before updates are installed not after.

    3.) Automatic scheduled restore points are created ONLY if other RPs have not been created in the last 7 days.

    4.) Task Scheduler - see General Task Properties and the links at the end of the article. Even though it says it applies to Windows 7 it should still be applicable to Windows 10. Also see What's New in Task Scheduler for changes in the last several version of Windows.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Joe, #3:

    My RP schedule of every 4 hours during a setup seems to work fine -- sorta. So if I schedule for every four hours, you are saying it will ignore the schedule?

    I'll take a look at #4.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,575
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    @Chuck,

    I meant the system generated task to automatically create restore points. Your task should work as scheduled.

    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Well Joe, it don't. I have my machine set to fire every 15 minutes while I set up for tax prep, and the last several RP's ran at 9.47pm, 10.19pm, 10.32pm and 10.47pm. As it is set to start up two minutes after the quarter-hour, it should have bee 9.47pm, 10.02pm, 10.17pm, 10.32pm, and 10.47pm.

    I have the task set to run regardless of who is logged in, and to retry on fail every minute for up to three retries.

    That doesn't seem quite right, does it?

    Chuck

    Added: I attached a copy of the exported task in question.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2016-03-22 at 02:21.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,575
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Was the machine awake? Your task definition does not allow wake-to-run.

    You might want to have your .vbs in a different folder than under Program Files. Program Files is a protected location and I've seen problems with using it regardless of the account being used.

    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    I checked out your xml file, and you appear to have it set up wrong. To run a vbs file you need to have it set up an unusual way from other programs. Under Action->Start a program you simply just put in the name of your vbs file. Then you put where it is stored in the Start in box. I have a couple set up, but the screen shot below is an example.


  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    The restore points themselves seem to work fine. It is the scheduling or reliance on any auto-backup procedure that seems at best shaky. I rely on Macrium as well, but to have only backups as an option is too bad.\

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I'll give that a look. But the task runs fine manually, so I dunno.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I tried not having the wscript.exe, but it didn't activate at all -- no errors either, just nada. I tried it the "old way" again, and it worked fine. It's not the script. It's a Task Scheduler issue in W-10 as, I think, relates to updates.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Joe, yes my machine was awake...I'm not sure how/where to set wake-to-run. yes, the script (as of the moment) is at "C:\Program Files\Auto Restore Point\Instant_Restore_Point-10.vbs." I'll certainly move it and see if that helps.
    ---
    OK, I moved the script to "C:\WinMgmnt\System\Registry\Auto Restore Point\Instant_Restore_Point-10.vbs."

    We'll see if that helps...hope so...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2016-03-27 at 20:42.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •