Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    965
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts

    Windows Defender needs to scan your computer

    Upgraded my Windows 7 Pro desktop to Windows 10 Pro on Feb2 and it runs great

    I use Windows Defender and occasionally I get the following notification:
    --- Windows Defender needs to scan your computer.
    --- That doesnít sound normal to me
    I looked into Windows Defender settings and Real Time Protection is On.
    --- However I cannot find a schedule for when itís supposed to scan
    Task Scheduler doesnít have a scan schedule for it in there either that I can see
    In Services it starts up Automatically

    I started a file to record Windows Defenderís activity
    --- I need to determine whether or not it scans daily or on a random basis
    --- And I want to find out why I have to depend on being notified when it needs to scan and what can I do to fix it

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
    One possibility - do you use CCleaner ?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/windows/com...your_computer/

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to MartinM For This Useful Post:

    holdum333 (2016-03-21)

  4. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi This is only way I know to schedule WD !
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ndows-defender

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to holdum333 For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2016-03-22)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    It runs daily by default. Check Control Panel, Security and Maintenance, Automatic Maintenance.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2016-03-22)

  8. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Thanks Bruce! Should I have automatic maintenance turned on?
    Capture48.JPG

  9. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    You have. It's busy.

  10. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    You have. It's busy.
    Hi I'm not sure what you're saying! I changed it and WD started scanning and is scanning at this moment.
    Should I leave it like my screen shot?
    Thanks!

  11. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    What did you change (from/to)?

  12. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi Bruce! I think I understand what's going on now. It's scheduled to run 2:00AM, but I can manually force it run !
    Capture48.JPG
    Thanks friend!

  13. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    965
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    Yesterday I said “Task Scheduler doesn’t have a scan schedule for it in there either that I can see”
    Today I did find it and in summary here are the Windows Defender descriptions
    Windows Defender Task Scheduler entries (There aren’t any triggers)
    Windows Defender Cache Maintenance description: Periodic maintenance task
    Windows Defender Cleanup description: Periodic cleanup task
    Windows Defender Scheduled Scan description: Periodic scan task
    Windows Defender Verification description: Periodic verification task
    I compared them to my Windows 8.1 entries and everything including settings are exactly the same

    Automatic maintenance is scheduled to run automatically at 2 AM

    I do use CCleaner so I unchecked Applications: Utilities: Windows Defender

    Looks to me like Windows Defender will be in control now. Thanks everyone

  14. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    965
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    The problem is solved. Haven't had the issue since I unchecked Windows Defender in CCleaner.
    In addition I took the time to ensure that Automatic Maintenance does run on a daily basis.
    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •