Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Question I need help - what happens weirds me out

    Hello all.

    Customer system, running Win 10 Home.
    Customer does not know if the box was bought with 10 or upgraded from either 7 or 8.1.

    Win Defender removed in February a trojan virus, name unknown.

    Symptoms:
    • Slow boot times, sometimes over 2 minutes (no updates, startup programs checked, nothing obvious). But lots of disk activity; checks for rootkit come up empty (Kaspersky and MBAR)

    • Classic Control Panel accessible and works,
      (PC) Settings is completely missing in menu(s)!

    • Taskbar does not react to right click.

    • Right click on folders and/or files has about a 20 second delay before the context menu appears.


    • Click on the Windows update icon (yes, all my Win 8 and 10 customers have one on the desktop) gives this error massage:
      ___Error MoSue02.png

    • Tried God Mode but even from there section Update and Recovery is completely missing!

    All my Googling and searching on MS site(s) no good; I am completely stumped.
    And please don't even begin to tell me to Refresh the OS, that is in PC Settings panel and that is awol.

    Any all suggestions are most welcome BUT: I have to call the customer to get access to the machine, so my responses will take a day(s).

    BTW, their user account works otherwise fine.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Eike,

    You can do a refresh but you will have to do it with boot media. Use the MS Media-Creation tool to create a USB thumb drive with the Win 10 image and boot from there to do the refresh or if necessary a clean install.

    HTH

    Update: I just tried this to make sure, so when you get to the blue screen with the big Install Now button look at the bottom left where you'll see the Repair your computer.

    Select it and the next screen select the Troubleshoot tile.

    Now select Reset this PC.

    Choose Keep my files.

    HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-03-24 at 09:42.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-03-24)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    It sounds like it's struggling on the profile.

    To check:
    1. Copy the following to the Windows clipboard: control /name Microsoft.WindowsUpdate
    2. Right-click on Start, choose Command Prompt (Admin), paste the command and hit Enter.
    3. Right-click on Start, choose Command Prompt, paste the command and hit Enter.

    If it works for Admin but not user then I would suspect a corrupt profile.

    If it works for neither then try sfc /scannow and a disk check.

    Hope this helps...

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-03-24)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I tend to agree with Rick. Try creating a new user and see if that works.
    I would also give Tweaking.com's Windows Repair a shot:
    http://www.tweaking.com/content/page...ll_in_one.html

    Jerry

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-03-24)

  8. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    @Retired Geek:
    Thanks RG, will do asap, maybe tomorrow?
    Not going out now, ice and fresh snow on top of it. not much but just enough for the ditch...
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-03-24 at 16:37. Reason: typo...
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  9. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    I tend to agree with Rick. Try creating a new user and see if that works.
    I would also give Tweaking.com's Windows Repair a shot:
    @Jerry:
    New user? Hah ha, there is NO WAY to get into Settings, not even from Control Panel's User Accounts entry or from God mode.

    Re Tweaking: Thanks and heck, why didn't I think of that myself? Will try but at the earliest tomorrow.
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-03-24 at 16:43. Reason: another typo
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  10. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Right-click on Start
    When I last looked Start is in the task bar and there NOTHING goes...
    Btw, after I had re-installed a fresh copy of Firefox and pinned it to the task bar this icon "worked" normally. Go figure..
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  11. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    You can try running settings by executing c:\Windows\ImmersiveControlPanel\systemsettings.ex e.

    Joe

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-03-24)

  13. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    You can try running settings by executing c:\Windows\ImmersiveControlPanel\systemsettings.ex e.
    @Joe:
    Thanks. now that seems worth at least a try but I offer a bet that I will get an error message similar to the ones in the OP.
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-03-24 at 17:31.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  14. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Well, turns out that does not work on my build 14291 system. I thought I had done that before but I must have been hallucinating.

    Joe

  15. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I thought I had done that before but I must have been hallucinating.
    Just got up from the floor laughing; good one.
    And no problem at all. Happy Easter.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  16. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eikelein View Post
    ...And please don't even begin to tell me to Refresh the OS, that is in PC Settings panel and that is awol...
    Click Start\Power then press (and hold down) the Shift key then click Restart.

    You should see a "Choose an option" screen. Click on "Troubleshoot" then click on "Reset this PC" (you can choose to keep files and programs).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  17. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    @Coochin:
    Sorry, but again:
    Start is part of the task bar. EVERYTHING in the task bar except the newly created FF icon is dead and does not react to anything.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  18. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Thanks to all and final feedback

    A BIG thank you to everyone who responded; I can't even begin to put a value on your suggestions and insights.

    Today WE finally did it, we being you all, the customer and myself as an instrument.

    I decided not to loose time with trying many of the suggestions that were made; I just choose to do what RG recommended right away: Had MS create a new installation media on a free USB drive and started the Refresh install from there.

    Funny enough the first two attempts ended in simple error messages like "Windows ran into a problem, install failed, click Next - which resulted in a re-boot. Twice in a row.

    I checked the BIOS/UEFI settings, they were okay and tried the same again; smelled to me like the classic definition of idiocy to expect different results from repeatedly doing exactly the same thing. But perseverance won out, or three is a charm or maybe just the luck of the Irish despite me being German, the third attempt worked as it should.

    The customer is happy, I have a new experience under my belt and y'all have a bunch more THANKS by your names.

    I will close the thread and Happy Easter to all.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •