Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Disable UAC?

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,523
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Disable UAC?

    I turned off UAC via "Change User Account settings" in the User Account...so now the prompt I get frequently is that the UAC is off -- I KNOW that! How can I disable that prompt?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    I turned off UAC via "Change User Account settings" in the User Account...so now the prompt I get frequently is that the UAC is off -- I KNOW that! How can I disable that prompt?

    Chuck Billow
    Several pages shown here speak to that:
    https://duckduckgo.com/?q=turn+off+u...windows+10&t=h
    This one is Vista but may work:
    http://techboys.typepad.com/techboys..._disable_.html

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    I turned off UAC via "Change User Account settings" in the User Account...so now the prompt I get frequently is that the UAC is off -- I KNOW that! How can I disable that prompt?

    Chuck Billow
    Got to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Security and Maintenance and choose not to monitor the settings you do not want monitored.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to djohnson For This Useful Post:

    holdum333 (2016-03-24)

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,523
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    We'll see if that works.

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
    If that doesn't totally solve your problem save this as a .reg file, and run it. Then type in services.msc in the Run dialog, scroll down to Security Center, right-click, and choose restart.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center]
    "UACDisableNotify"=dword:00000001

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,896
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 144 Times in 141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by djohnson View Post
    If that doesn't totally solve your problem save this as a .reg file, and run it. Then type in services.msc in the Run dialog, scroll down to Security Center, right-click, and choose restart.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center]
    "UACDisableNotify"=dword:00000001
    Thanks! Hey, if I need to UACNotifyEnable, what is the REG text for that? Sometimes my Windows does not react well.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradford UK
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 162 Times in 143 Posts
    As always, someones already thought of it.

    http://www.winability.com/tweak-uac/

    Its labeled Vista, but it works in W7, W8 & W10 as well. Just set it to Low and the message disappears (except in Vista-see bottom paragraph).
    Last edited by Calimanco; 2016-03-27 at 11:01.

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Thanks! Hey, if I need to UACNotifyEnable, what is the REG text for that? Sometimes my Windows does not react well.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center]
    "UACDisableNotify"=-

  10. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,523
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    THAT might work. Thanks.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •