Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    BDAnticryptowall or BDAntiransomware?

    I had BDAnticryptowall installed on my PC recently. It said protection was enabled, but you had to enable immunization everytime you logged on. Now I see a new program BDAntiransomware. Both are about the same size and look similar when installed. The latter does not have an immunization button, but says protection is enabled. Neither seems to have an update feature which is a little disconcerting.

    Is one of these 2 programs the better one to use or should I be using another tool to do this that has a better GUI?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradford UK
    Posts
    768
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 156 Times in 140 Posts
    You could try Malwarebytes Anti_Ransomeware. Its still in beta, but most of the early bugs seem to have been fixed. It needs no manual input unless it finds something and it updates automatically.

    https://forums.malwarebytes.org/topi...nsomware-beta/

    Cryptoprevent is also available, but the free version needs manual updates.

    https://www.foolishit.com/cryptoprev...re-prevention/

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Looks like I already have Cryptoprevent installed, but it did need updating. The BD programs seem to run without conflict with Cryptoprevent. I am uncertain if I should have both running along with an AV program.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,647
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 427 Times in 398 Posts
    My guess is that most of the name-brand A/V products include ransomware protection. My A/V product, Trend Micro, includes ransomware protection.

    But you need to have it installed BEFORE the infection hits, rather than try to clean it up afterward.

    Personally, I prefer to pay for protection rather than use a free product. This is not based on evidence or ratings, but rather on my belief that if I am paying someone, they will be more motivated to give me good protection than if I am not paying them.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2016-03-29 at 14:38.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,024
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 705 Times in 620 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    My guess is that most of the name-brand A/V products include ransomware protection. My A/V product, Trend Micro, includes ransomware protection.

    But you need to have it installed BEFORE the infection hits, rather than try to clean it up afterward.
    Isn't that implied by "protection"?

    Does anything clean up after ransomware?

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,647
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 427 Times in 398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    My guess is that most of the name-brand A/V products include ransomware protection. My A/V product, Trend Micro, includes ransomware protection.

    But you need to have it installed BEFORE the infection hits, rather than try to clean it up afterward.
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Isn't that implied by "protection"?

    Does anything clean up after ransomware?
    Sometimes there is success in unencrypting the files, depending on how well or how poorly the ransomware was written.

    http://www.techworld.com/security/7-...lware-3626974/

    But the reason I said that it needs to be installed BEFORE is because some people might not realize that with Ransomware, there likely won't be a way to clean up after the fact.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    near Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    Looks like I already have Cryptoprevent installed, but it did need updating. The BD programs seem to run without conflict with Cryptoprevent. I am uncertain if I should have both running along with an AV program.
    Due to the way CryptoPrevent works I have never seen a conflict with many other AV/malware tools. My previous comments on the topic are here:

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...=1#post1051100

    ...and some from a more reputable source are here:

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/foru.../#entry3932804

    Stay Safe!
    -brino

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •