New Lounger
    Thanks

Records with similar information do not save as a new record.

Hi,

I am totally new to Access and I have a problem saving records on a form.

I have about 20 fields on the form which is basically client information like first name, age, address, phone number, etc.
    Whenever I use the combo box to find previous records, they populate the fields as expected.

The problem arises when I only edit a few of the fields (like name and phone number) but want to leave the rest the same (like address and client company profile).
    When I click the "add new record" button, access does not save it as a new record, but edits the same record and saves it.

Can I know what should I do to make sure access understands this is a new record and save it appropriately?

Thank you so much!

Thanks
    At least one of the fields you are not editing are serving as "reference" fields -- that is, that is how Access determines if the record is the same, or if it is actually a new record. These "reference" fields need to be unique. An example of a field which will always be unique is the social security number. In other words, if you enter a person's ssn, you KNOW that you will get the correct customer record, because no two people have the same ssn. If the ssn is not one of your fields, then you'll need to have a field which will always be unique to the particular customer, such as an account number. I have often created a "hidden" reference number for each customer (hidden to normal view) which is unique to each customer; and that reference number is how I always refer to the customer, because I never have to worry about duplicate numbers, nor about a change in the format of that number. (It is theoretically possible for an account number to have a change in format at some point in the future.)

To test this, edit the fields that you have not been editing, to see if Access will save it as a new record.