Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Access ODBC

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access ODBC

    Good afternoon. I am hoping you can help with me a problem. I am using the same ODBC connection for our system.
    Every time I change computers, I have to go through a process to reconnect to the ODBC.
    I was originally told to relink the tables. Problem is that processes causes duplicate tables (i.e., such as dbo_Client, dbo_Client1, dbo_Client2).
    Now they say I should just refresh the tables. I have tried looking for instructions on how to do this, but I am getting nowhere.
    How does one just refresh the tables for the ODBC connection.

    Thanks Paul

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    ODBC settings are stored in the registry. All I do is export to a reg file and import on each new machine. You can even test if the key is already in place and if not add it.
    Nice page here showing how it's done.

    cheers, Paul
    Last edited by Paul T; 2016-04-06 at 12:12.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    There is a tool to re-link tables called the Linked Table Manager that will do the trick for you, but if you are actually moving the application from workstation A to workstation B and you have the ODBC driver correctly installed you shouldn't need to do anything on workstation B as long as the ODBC data source is given the same name. A bit more information would be helpful to make sure we don't mislead you. What version of Access are you using? Also, if this is SQL Server what version are you using, and what OS is the workstation running? If it isn't SQL Server, what is the database server where the tables reside?
    Wendell

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The click here does not work, can you send me a better location.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    ODBC settings are stored in the registry. All I do is export to a reg file and import on each new machine. You can even test if the key is already in place and if not add it.
    Nice page here showing how it's done.

    cheers, Paul
    The click here does not work, can you send me a better location.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    Don't know what happened there. Edited link in original post (and tested).

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •