Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Admin Password

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Admin Password

    I have installed an app in Win 10 that insists on my Admin Password every time I launch it in a user account even though this is unnecessary. How can I disable this request for one app only please? All the advice I can find is to disable admin password for all apps or none.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,801
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Hello.

    In your post you wrote : All the advice I can find is to disable admin password for all apps or none.

    You might have to live with this. In UAP, I have not yet seen any option to be specific. Have a great day. Jean.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to handcuff36 For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-08)

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you are running as a standard user you must supply the admin credentials when you run the app directly.

    A way to get around it is to create a scheduled task which supplies the credentials. See Setting a shortcut to trigger task scheduler.

    Joe

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-09)

  6. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Joe, there might be one more way to consider. In Windows 7, one can goto Properties, Compatibilty, Check the box for Run this program as an administrator. I do not know if Windows 10 has such an option.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to RolandJS For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-09)

  8. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Joe, there might be one more way to consider. In Windows 7, one can goto Properties, Compatibilty, Check the box for Run this program as an administrator. I do not know if Windows 10 has such an option.
    When I right-click an App icon on the Start menu I get a list that has More, clicking that shows Run as Administrator as a choice.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-09)

  10. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If the OP is running as a standard user he will still have to supply credentials. If he didn't need to supply the credentials then what would be the point to having a security paradigm that included administrators and non-administrators?

    Joe

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-09)

  12. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 40 Times in 35 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trh.wilson View Post
    I have installed an app in Win 10 that insists on my Admin Password every time I launch it in a user account even though this is unnecessary. How can I disable this request for one app only please? All the advice I can find is to disable admin password for all apps or none.
    How do you know its unnecessary? Presumably the app author believes that elevated priviledge is required (they may be wrong).

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to mngerhold For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-09)

  14. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mngerhold View Post
    How do you know its unnecessary? Presumably the app author believes that elevated priviledge is required (they may be wrong).
    The program is Bitdefender Anti-Ransomeware. Other anti malware/virus programs run from start-up without needing admin password. I have tried to contact Bitdefender but without any luck so far.

  15. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    If you are running as a standard user you must supply the admin credentials when you run the app directly.

    A way to get around it is to create a scheduled task which supplies the credentials. See Setting a shortcut to trigger task scheduler.

    Joe
    Hi
    I have got the program showing as 'ready' in the Task Scheduler Library but cannot get a shortcut to open it. Tom

  16. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Joe, there might be one more way to consider. In Windows 7, one can goto Properties, Compatibilty, Check the box for Run this program as an administrator. I do not know if Windows 10 has such an option.
    Wouldn't let me! Tom

  17. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This only demands admin password for me!

  18. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 40 Times in 35 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trh.wilson View Post
    The program is Bitdefender Anti-Ransomeware. Other anti malware/virus programs run from start-up without needing admin password. I have tried to contact Bitdefender but without any luck so far.
    This seems to be a design flaw with this program - see http://betanews.com/2016/03/29/free-...security-tool/

    I was going to try it myself under W10, but now see no prospect of helping - sorry.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to mngerhold For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-11)

  20. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trh.wilson View Post
    Hi
    I have got the program showing as 'ready' in the Task Scheduler Library but cannot get a shortcut to open it. Tom
    Did you not do step 7 in the article?

    Joe

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    trh.wilson (2016-04-11)

  22. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham,UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I did try step 7 - several times - carefully! All I got was what looked like a DOS window, opening, scrolling and closing before I could see any content. In view of useful link from mngerhold above, I think I will give up until there is more from Bit Defender. Thanks for the help. Tom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •