Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cannot setup account on Outlook 2007.

    I wanted to create an E-mail account on Outlook, however I'm encountering a problem that I cannot solve. I followed the steps to create my E-mail, but when I test the account settings before I click "Next" I get errors. Errors do not occur when I click "Next" and then "Finish", but I don't get the notification that my account has been established. I wrote down the incoming and outgoing servers just like it says on Yahoo Helpcentral.

    And this happens when I test account settings


    When I setup the outgoing server to 587 and when I go to Tools/Send/Receive/Send Receive All, nothing appears. But when I change it to 465, this pops out


    The second one "Receiving" does not get "Completed".

    Can anybody know how to fix this problem? I've been trying, but I can't get anywhere.
    Last edited by F.E.A.R.; 2016-04-10 at 18:44.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Why use Spoiler to hide the images?

    I'd think it might work better using IMAP instead of POP.
    https://help.yahoo.com/kb/mail-for-d...l-sln3769.html

  3. #3
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Why use Spoiler to hide the images?
    So it won't look like a wall of text and graffiti :P

    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    I'd think it might work better using IMAP instead of POP.
    https://help.yahoo.com/kb/mail-for-d...l-sln3769.html
    Yeah you were right. I used IMAP and now it works, however it says that it couldn't connect and it will be in offline mode. I restarted it, but I think It's connected know. But I don't know how to confirm this though.

    The Outlook Send/Receive Progress still can't get completed when I go to Tools/Send/Receive/Send Receive All. Does that make it a problem or it's not a big deal?
    Last edited by F.E.A.R.; 2016-04-10 at 19:42.

  4. #4
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Update: Because I was in a rush I didn't test the account settings. When I did this morning I got this again

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    The yahoo mail server for IMAP is imap.mail.yahoo.com. Did you change that?
    It seems you still have the account configured for POP, anyway, per the error message.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    The yahoo mail server for IMAP is imap.mail.yahoo.com. Did you change that?
    It seems you still have the account configured for POP, anyway, per the error message.
    Yes I changed it

    I even tested it with both Port 465 and 587.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    You need to use SSL. Incoming port is 993 and outgoing is 465.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    You need to use SSL.
    I used it like you said, but this pops up


    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Incoming port is 993 and outgoing is 465.
    My incoming port is 993 and outgoing is 465.
    Last edited by F.E.A.R.; 2016-04-11 at 13:12.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    I guess the answer to the dialog box must be yes, or else you won't be able to receive anything.

    I am using the same server and I get no warnings on Outlook 2016.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #10
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    I guess the answer to the dialog box must be yes, or else you won't be able to receive anything.

    I am using the same server and I get no warnings on Outlook 2016.
    I clicked "Yes" now I get a persistent "Enter Network Password". I can see there's a thread about this on the forum. I can't believe this is such a pain. I guess there's no problem like this with 2016 version.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.E.A.R. View Post
    I clicked "Yes" now I get a persistent "Enter Network Password". I can see there's a thread about this on the forum. I can't believe this is such a pain. I guess there's no problem like this with 2016 version.

    Not sure what is a "network password". The only password you should need is your Yahoo password.
    I had no issues at all configuring the account in Outlook 2016. Previously, I had no issues with Outlook 2013 either.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  12. #12
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Not sure what is a "network password". The only password you should need is your Yahoo password.
    I had no issues at all configuring the account in Outlook 2016. Previously, I had no issues with Outlook 2013 either.
    I meant this
    oFK9EV1.png
    It keeps asking for my Network Pass, while my Net Pass is correct.
    Last edited by F.E.A.R.; 2016-04-11 at 17:53.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    That is asking you for the login details to your yahoo account. That means that either the details you entered are wrong, or the server is having issues (they have been recurrent in the last few days).

    I suggest you go to http://mail.yahoo.com and enter those details. If you are able to login with them, then the details are correct and it's the server issues causing the errors. If you cannot login, then maybe you need a password reset.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  14. #14
    New Lounger F.E.A.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK so I solved the problem after 2 days of searching.

    I deleted my Yahoo account and add the new G-mail one. I followed this tutorial


    You need to go to Gmail/Settings/Forwarding and POP/IMAP/Enable IMAP, Done.

    Go to My Account/Sign-in & security (Scroll Down)/Allow less secure apps: ON (it's OFF, so you must turn it ON).

    I made incoming port 993, enabling SSL and made outgoing port 587, enabling it to Auto.

    This is all in the tutorial.

    B9Q2Nxh.png

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •