Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    W97

    I have to insert a watermark that has been designed in WordArt.
    When I insert the watermark into the document header
    save & close the document
    when I re-open the document my wordArt box is filled with the colour my text is filled.
    Does anyone know why this occurs?
    Any ideas?
    TIA Diana

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Diana,

    Maybe you can attach the document in question?
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Geoff
    Please find attached example.
    The wordArt is suppose to display text either "Draft" or "Copy".
    However it displays when you first insert WordArt(as autotext entry), however when you save & close the document the result is attached.
    Thanks Diana
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Diana:

    Not exactly sure what your question was. Were you complaining about the grey page. If so, show the header/footer, then double click somewhere in the grey area & a format autoshape dialog box will appear. Go to the color & lines tab, color, & choose no fill. Then click OK.

    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Phil

    The issue is this grey box actually has text within it - either "draft" or "copy" designed in WordArt.
    When inserted into docs header - the text is actually displayed.

    when I close & reopen the doc the text is no longer displayed, in its place is the grey box which is the actual size of the textbox.
    Whatever colour the fill is - if I change the text to blue -then close doc & reopen - the box is filled with that colour.

    I have attached sample.
    A PDF format which is the end result I want.
    & in an earlier post the doc format which is the problem child.

    I hope thats clearer. Any ideas!!
    Diana
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Diana:

    I could see nothing. It just looks like whatever was inserted wasn't WordArt. It's just an object like a rectangle. I tried to check to see if the line & fill were the same color, but I see nothing but a box. I did see what you wanted in the PDF doc. I'm not sure what you did to insert the WordArt. Maybe you can make a copy of the document, delete the object & start over inserting a watermark. I've played around with a copy of your document (the Word doc) & inserted a watermark. It may be different than what you want, but maybe you could change it. I hope this helps.

    By the way, I noticed an interesting use of the {SET} field. I've only seen that used in MailMerge. How & why do you use it in your document?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Phil

    I actually saved the WordArt as autotext entries in a global template.
    When I insert the wordArt (as an autotext) into a template save, close template & reopen - then text is displayed -
    its just when I insert the WordArt (as autotext entries) into a doc it doesnt display text.
    Thanks for you sample I'll have a look - if I have any problems I let you know.

    Instead of bookmarks which users can delete, or in Words custom document properties,
    the SET field is just a means of storing data in the doc.
    Functions obtain the values in these fields & the variables are then used to determine & call other functions.
    Hope this answers your question.

    Thanks Diana

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Diana:

    Hope the watermark works for you. I know what a SET field does, in general. I was wondering how you use it in your document. I've never thought of a use for it outside of a mail merge & was curious. Maybe you could give me an example.

    Thanks in advance.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    HI Phil

    An example of the way we use the set field in our documents.
    We have subsidiary companies or groups under the one big umbrella of our organisation that we have to support.

    When users fire up the word templates they select which company they are working for.
    The company selected is stored in a set field eg named "CompanyType".

    We have company letterheads stored/programmed in our printers as printer overlays(saves on preprinted paper).
    When user prints final copy of their document - the field/variable company name is used to determine the type of letterhead that is to print out.

    As I mentioned previoulsly there are different means to store data, one could have used Words Custom doc properties, bookmarks, fields. etc
    Is that clearer? - Diana

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Diana:

    Yes, that's clearer. As I understand it, an AutoNew macro brings up a dialog box in which the user enters the company. That's stored in a set field & is later used in another macro to select certain options. Have I sort of got it?

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Phil - you got it!

    The test/sample document you attached works & I'm wondering what process you used to create the text.

    You certainly didnt use wordArt to create.
    You have created each letter individually & grouped them together.
    Did you create in another app eg powerpoint?
    Please explain!

    Also I heard WordArt is a 3rd party application that Microsoft bought & incorpated into MS.
    Is that true - does anyone know the history?

    Diana

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Diana:

    No, I used WordArt. I have Word 2000. I opened the header, then just went to Insert/Object/ & then picked the WordArt one. Then I played around with a couple fonts, effects, & rotation (I forgot exactly & I don't have Word open now). And I picked one of the greyscale colors. At some point, there's an option to make it a watermark, which takes care of transparency, etc.. If you have any questions, post back.

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    In W97

    each time I create & insert a new WordArt.
    I always have the same problem.
    When I save & close the doc
    the reopen I just get a big square.

    In my format AutotShape dialog box the Picture Tab is disable I cant get acces to it.
    I really dont know whats going on?
    Diana

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WordEdit box is being prefilled with text colour

    I don't have Word 97 to check it, but something sounds wrong. Word 97 had a SR-1 & SR-2 updates. I think the first one cured the "big red X" problem of pictures not showing. That would be the first thing I'd check.

    Another thing to check is Tools/Options/View & make sure picture placeholders isn't ticked. Do you have any AutoOpen macros that would tick that option?

    There are a couple of other possibilities that I found. You can check these KB articles to see if any apply. Wish I could figure it out, but I'm not sure.

    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q157/4/66.asp
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q168/9/10.ASP
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q197/0/14.ASP
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q171/0/42.ASP
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q172/8/18.ASP

    Hope this helps.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re:WordArt box is being prefilled with text colour

    Hi Phil

    In Office 97 we have the patches installed.

    You mentioned that the watermark you created
    the process was
    Insert>Object>WordArt - & then option to make watermark.

    I have installed Office 2000.
    I went into
    Insert>Object> & I dont have WordArt.

    I can only access WordArt by the following process: Insert>Picture>WordArt.
    & I dont have an option to make it a watermark.

    Exactly how did you create your watermark?
    The sample you provided works - however I cant use - I have to create my own(due to different format required etc).

    Please confirm
    Thanks Diana

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •