Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    f/u to RansomWare Threads - bootable macrium problem

    On my W7 SP1 desktop, with the paid version of Macrium Reflect, I had created created the Macrium WinPE environment and used it from time to time to boot into Macrium to restore an image.

    In reading some of the threads about Ransomware and Locky, I decided to create a bootable Macrium Rescue tool on a usb flash drive.

    I did so, using Macrium.

    However, when testing what I created, on booting from the flash drive, I get the message: "no operating system", and the system just hangs there.

    I would appreciate help in correcting what I'm doing wrong, so that I can create and boot from the Macrium Rescue tool.

    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    I don't think you are doing anything wrong.

    Today after using my USB bootable MR to backup my wife's machine I brought it over to one of my laptops and got the same message. I've never seen this message before! I tried a reboot, no go. Then I let the machine boot into W10 and did a restart tapping the F12 as always on all my Dells to get the boot menu and selected USB Device as always and this time it booted. Ghosts, Gremlins, Trolls? Who knows.

    So when getting a message like this try all the usual fixes, i.e. Reboot, Restart, Different USB port, just reseating the device, etc. If they all fail I'd then I'd revert to recreating the boot device and try it all over again. The creation of bootable media with MR is very straight forward and not too much you can do wrong.

    Of course don't forget to make sure your computer has the capability to boot from USB and that you know how to get to the boot menu on your computer.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    brino (2016-04-18),Dick-Y (2016-04-15)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I can get to the boot menu ok; but how do I ensure that my computer can boot from usb?

    How do I add the flash drive to the list of bootable devices?

    Dick

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    That is done through the BIOS. If you have a Dell that's usually the F2 key at boot up. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-15)

  7. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    When I did the F2 thing, what I see is:
    Hard-disk configuration:
    1. USB Device
    2. System Bios Boot device

    Boot Sequence:
    1. IDE CD-Ram
    2.
    Hard-disk device Drive C:

    How do I had the USB Drive to the Boot Sequence?

    Dick

  8. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    ....don't forget to make sure your computer has the capability to boot from USB and that you know how to get to the boot menu on your computer.

    HTH
    And the USB flash drive is formatted bootable.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-15)

  10. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    There should be instructions on the BIOS screen on how to modify the entries.

    Usually use use the arrow keys to locate the option you want to change then hit Enter.

    Your should then be presented with a list of available options to choose from and again select with arrow keys and hit Enter to select.

    If USB device doesn't show in the list of Boot Menu items your BIOS doesn't support it and you may need to resort to a Bootable CD which Macrium will also make for you.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-15)

  12. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y
    How do I add the USB Drive to the Boot Sequence?
    It may help to know the model of Dell desktop, in case one of us has similar and can describe the process in detail.

    For example, I have a Dell Precision 490 Workstation, i.e. pre-UEFI and there isn't any option in the BIOS (F2) to add devices to boot from, only an option to alter the 'Boot Sequence' ('cos supported boot devices are automatically recognised)... although I just use F12 to access the Boot menu when I need to.

    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-04-15 at 21:02.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-16)

  14. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Sometimes the BIOS is configured to not boot from USB devices. Once you change it to allow booting all will be well.

    cheers, Paul

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-16)

  16. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Rick:
    It's an older Dell 4600i.

    Dick

  17. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    According to the user manual for your machine on page 27 you can boot from a USB device.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-16)

  19. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    THanks RG. So I've come full circle. I followed the procedure on P27 of the Dell manual. On pressing F12, it comes up with a list, with #6 being USB Device.
    I highlighted that and pressed enter.
    Guess what it said next . . .

    "Missing Operating system"

    Dick

  20. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Get Rufus and let it format and create your USB stick using FreeDOS - make sure the correct device is selected then accept the defaults and click Start. Try to boot from the USB.
    This will prove that your machine can boot from USB.

    cheers, Paul

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-04-16)

  22. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Paul, Using what you suggested, and RG's procedure, it worked; and I booted from the flash drive!

    Now, I'm going to use Macrium to create the recovery environment on that flash drive.

    Here's hoping Macrium doesn't foul up the bootable FreeDos.

    Dick
    PS,
    I'll post the results of that Macrium step.

  23. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I used Macrium to put it's recovery environment (WinPE) on that flash.
    When booting, I now get error code :
    0xc000000c

    Dick

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •