Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Changing Modem/Router

    I have just installed a the Billion 8800NL modem/router on Windows 7. It works fine.

    My question is, how do I now get the new download speed with this upgrade. My previous Netgear modem/router gave me 108Mbps. The Billion indicates in the settings my connection speed is now Downstream (Kbps) 17102. But my speed has not changed and stays exactly what it was with the old modem/router.

    Do I need to ask BT to alter the profile for me to get this upgraded speed. It has adjusted to the old router to its maximum.

    Any advice would be very much appreciated.
    cornfield

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to cornfield For This Useful Post:

    LGHanley (2016-07-10)

  3. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    The speed has stayed the same how? measured?

    Through your wifi connection? Using what protocol? G, superG (which would have been 108Mbps), N or AC. Single or multiple antenna transmitter AND receiver?

    Through your Ethernet port? Is it a Gigabit port?
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2016-04-15 at 16:25.

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    The speed has stayed the same how? measured?

    Through your wifi connection? Using what protocol? G, superG (which would have been 108Mbps), N or AC. Single or multiple antenna transmitter AND receiver?

    Through your Ethernet port? Is it a Gigabit port?
    Inside the router settings it says the speed is Downstream (Kbps) 17102.

    If I download through a wired ADSL connection the speed is exactly the same as with the prvious router, at its maximum speed. This is with downloading a large file, like the Ubuntu ISO file.

    My question is, will it take BT time to adjust to my new possible speed? Or do I need to contact BT and ask them to reset my profile?

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    To check your real-world speed, go to http://www.speedtest.net and run a speed test there. To compare that with the previous speed, reconnect your old router and run the test again.

    It won't take any time for BT to adjust to your new possible speed. But you probably need to call and request a faster speed.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2016-04-15 at 17:04.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Note what the Downstream Attenuation is in the Netgear and compare that to the 8800NL

    I have a 7800N (now just a spare) and that always gave mine as around the 50 mark, whereas the newer TalkTalk router (D-Link 3780) has it around the 44 - 45 mark.

    The TalkTalk router gives me a better ADSL speed than the 7800N ever did - probably because of the chipset and less "resistance".

    I put this down to the Broadcom chipset in the 7800N and because of the electronics, this would equate to more resistance on a line which would reduce the sync speed.

    If you have any problems with your 8800NL then you can register on the Billion forum at www.billion.uk.com/forum where the forum's liaison - billion_fan will answer any queries.

    You may also want to go to www.billion.uk.com/esupport to check for any firmware updates under the Downloads tab.

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    To check your real-world speed, go to http://www.speedtest.net and run a speed test there. To compare that with the previous speed, reconnect your old router and run the test again.

    It won't take any time for BT to adjust to your new possible speed. But you probably need to call and request a faster speed.
    Thank you. The speed test gives 14.64Mbps, which is what BT say I should be able to get. But the actual speed I get is 1.7Mbps, which is the maximum speed of my old Netgear moderm/router.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    I'm a bit confused about the numbers you are giving.

    Can you do a speed test at www.speedtest.net then post for each router.

    You can do this by clicking on Share this result then on Copy then paste it in the reply box.

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I'm a bit confused about the numbers you are giving.

    Can you do a speed test at www.speedtest.net then post for each router.

    You can do this by clicking on Share this result then on Copy then paste it in the reply box.
    Well, I am puzzled too! Both routers give the same for speed tests - 14.64Mbps, somethimes slightly more, up 16.60Mbps. But an acrual download goes up to 1.7Mbps on both routers.

    I have read elsewhere that when you change to a higher speed router the ISP has to adjust your profile over several days. I only changed router this afternoon, so maybe I need to wait for it to settle in with the ISP profile.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    What do you mean by the accrual download and did you see the links I've posted in Post #5 ?

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornfield View Post
    Thank you. The speed test gives 14.64Mbps, which is what BT say I should be able to get. But the actual speed I get is 1.7Mbps, which is the maximum speed of my old Netgear moderm/router.
    Just how are you measuring your "Actual Speed"? Against what download location?

    You have to remember that the Net download speed has many variables, e.g. Location of download host, time of day, internet congestion, download host traffic load, etc.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    cornfield (2016-04-16)

  13. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Looks like the download speed is in MBytes per second and the router speed is in Mbits per second.

  14. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I am sorry if I am not making things clear.

    Here is the situation. If I do the speed test on the page you suggest, I get a reading for downloads of 14.64Mbps. This is the same for either router. That speed is also what BT say I should be able to get – between 8Mbps and 16Mbps.

    I have been told that the speed test tells you the speed you can get on your line. It is not the speed you actually get unless your equipment can handle that speed. My old router could no get this high speed and the ISP profile had adjusted to my actual speed – which was 1.7Mbps.

    It was because I had previously done speed tests that I decided to get a new router, so that I could take advantage of the higher speed that was possible.

    The maximum speed of my old Netgear DG834GT is given as 1.7Mbps. When I do a large download, either from the web or with a bit torrent, the speed creeps up to 1.7Mbps and stays there till the download is finished. With the old router this is fine and shows it works perfectly. But exactly the same happens with the new Billion BiPAC 8800NL. I still get up to 1.7Mbps.

    But the new modem router is meant to run as high 300Mbps. So why does my actual download speed stay the same with this new router?

    Is it because BT have to adjust the ISP profile for the new speed? That is my actual question.

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Just how are you measuring your "Actual Speed"? Against what download location?

    You have to remember that the Net download speed has many variables, e.g. Location of download host, time of day, internet congestion, download host traffic load, etc.

    HTH
    If I download Ubuntu ISO as a torrent file Utorrent gives the speed. If I download from the web I can measure the extact speed with BitMeter OS.

    I also apreciate that my speed is limited by the old router to up to 1.7Mbps, which is its maximum. Obviously my line has plenty os spare capacity, so I can always get that maximum speed in the old router.

    But why is it not higher speed in the new router? Is this because BT has to reset the ISP profile for my line, which has adjusted to the old router for a long time?

  16. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Your download speed is dependent on several things, none of which are under your control.
    1. Line speed. This is the speed the modem connects to the ISP, in your case 1702kbps downstream.
    2. The speed of the site you are attempting to download from. If the site is busy it will be slower.
    3. The amount of traffic on the net. Downloads very early on the morning are lkely to be faster as more people are asleep.
    4. Problems on the internet / broken connections. A link may have gone down and the and traffic is being routed through several, now busier, links.

    As your modem seems to be connected at the maximum line speed, I can't see how you can further improve your download speed.

    cheers, Paul

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    cornfield (2016-04-16)

  18. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you again for your responses.

    But none of your replies address my actual question, which is why does my new router run no faster than my old one.

    I have looked on the BT forums and the answer is there. When you change equipment your BT line has to readjust your profile. This profile was set up when you originally sign up for your broadband. It takes about 10 days for this to find the best speed between the box, your phone line and your router, so that there are no drop-outs.

    If you buy a new and faster modem/router, this profile has to be reset. Evidently this will happen automatically if the modem/router is left running continuously for up to 30 days. This will then establish a new maximum speed you will get with the new faster equipment.

    Also, I found out that doing the on-line speed tests does not tell you your connection speed. It only tells you the speed you could get as measured on the BT line to your dwelling. This test does not involve your modem/router. You would get the same result if you used the slowest possible modem/router to test the speed. Your actual speed is set by the BT profile, which finds a compromise between the possible speed (the one the on-line speed test shows) and the speed that works without drop-outs on your actual equipment.

    It is very strange that few people know anything about this. One buys a new faster modem/router and finds it is no better than the old one. On Amazon you can see that people find this happens and send it back for a refund. None of the literature on setting up your new modem/router mentions this profile that BT sets up for each individual line.

    So the answer to my question is that I must wait for my new modem/router to settle in and the BT profile will eventually change automatically over a month or so.

    I am surprised that this question has not been raised on this forum before. It is a simple question: What happens when you upgrade your modem/router to a faster one?

    With thanks to all,
    cornfield

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •