Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Quicktime in Windows 7 - security issues?

    A friend asked me if there are any problems using Quicktime in Win 7. He pointed me to the following URL which is hyperventilating about security issues in Quicktime.

    https://market-ticker.org/akcs-www?post=231327

    A search of forums did not find any Quicktime entries more current than around 2008...

    Any comments or suggestions???

    Thanks - Lloyd
    Lloyd

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,175
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    It would seem there is an issue with QT going by this US CERT page.
    https://www.us-cert.gov/ncas/alerts/TA16-105A

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    There is no real need to have Quicktime installed on Windows 7 as WMP has all of the codecs required to play QT files. If that is their personal choice, that that is fine. Earlier versions of Windows did not have these so QT might have been an essential addon.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Woody says: Uninstall QuickTime for Windows now!

    (Discussion at AskWoody.com says it may be necessary to keep it for local video editing: Apple won’t tell you what your best friends know)
    Last edited by BruceR; 2016-04-17 at 09:43.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Apple has deprecated QuickTime for Windows and will no longer be providing patches. There are a couple of known security issues right now. Everyone who has it installed must evaluate for themselves whether they want to continue to have it on their system.

    Joe

  6. #6
    Star Lounger cpwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    on windows I moved from QT to VLC which meets my needs and plays well.

    VideoLAN - Official page for VLC media player
    https://www.videolan.org/vlc/

    More about getting rid of QuickTime. Trend Micro:
    http://blog.trendmicro.com/urgent-ca...windows-today/

    Apple 'abandons' QuickTime on Windows - BBC News
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-36053672
    Last edited by cpwilson; 2016-04-17 at 11:15.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cpwilson
    on windows I moved from QT to VLC which meets my needs and plays well.
    Just bear in mind that by default VLC installs a QuickTime plugin: libquicktime_plugin.dll.

    If you have VLC installed, check the “C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\plugins\codec” folder.

    Photoshop CS2 also installs a QuickTime plugin – QuickTime.apl – into the “C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins\Adobe ImageReady Only\File Formats” folder. (I only have CS2 installed so don't know about other Photoshop versions.)

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    cpwilson (2016-04-17),lumpy95 (2016-04-18)

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for all the responses folks - I have passed them on to my friend.

    Lloyd
    Lloyd

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •