Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts

    Windows 10 In-place Upgrade Changed Some Important Settings

    Hello everyone. Yesterday i finished backing up all the data on my ol' Windows 7 Home Premium system and upgraded to Windows 10 "on top of" the existing setup. Was curious to see if my programs and settings would remain intact. It's only been one day but have already discovered some unwanted changes. We have our PCs, laptop, printer, HTPC and phones all on Windows Home Networking (rather than using Homegroup). Windows 10 disabled all of it and put us back to square one. Had to go into Network and Sharing/Advanced Sharing and select every necessary setting. Heck, even File and Printer sharing was disabled even though i had a network printer installed! The other thing i've noticed today is that Libraries no longer include or point to the folders that are set up on a secondary data drive.

    The operating system itself seems OK. Tried a couple of existing games and they load and play OK, too. Yet, this morning i needed to sign in at a website that wouldn't work with Chrome nor with MS Edge browser, and the website said to use Internet Explorer. Guess what? IE is not openly available on the desktop, quick launch or under Start/All apps. Had to type it in then select it from the search results. How weird is that?

    Is anyone else experiencing these unwanted changes or is it just me??

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starvinmarvin View Post
    ...Guess what? IE is not openly available on the desktop, quick launch or under Start/All apps...
    "Start\All Apps\Windows Accessories\Internet Explorer".

    Right-click on the IE shortcut then left-click on "Pin to Taskbar" or "Pin to Start".

    You might also want to go to "Control Panel\Default Programs\Set your default programs" and set IE as default.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    "Start\All Apps\Windows Accessories\Internet Explorer".

    Thanks, Coochin. I got "faked out" to begin with when looking at Start/All apps/Internet Explorer and was unable to launch the browser from there! Have pinned it to the Taskbar. Not sure yet if designating it as my default browser is the best choice. Lately, i've been using Avast SafeZone browser which comes with Avast free anti-virus. I believe it's a version of Chrome and is supposed to keep me safer when surfing to crayon-coloring-book websites ....

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 578 Times in 463 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starvinmarvin
    [I]Lately, i've been using Avast SafeZone browser which comes with Avast free anti-virus. I believe it's a version of Chrome....
    Avast SafeZone browser is a fork of Chromium, an open source browser project and I would be careful. There's been a bit of controversy about AV vendors pushing their own versions of web browsers and at least one recent security failure, e.g. Serious flaw discovered in Avast's security-focused SafeZone browser in February.

    I like the quote from the Google Project Zero researcher - Tavis Ormandy - who found the vulnerability: Selling antivirus doesn't qualify you to fork chromium, you're going to screw it up.

    [Slightly off-topic in the interests of caution - There have been several recent issues (some un-resolved) with the latest version of Avast - just have a look at posts on the Avast Support forum. I had my own personal experience of Avast Free breaking on multiple PC's following the 'upgrade' to its recent new version - a reproducible fault which I reported but got nowhere with a resolution.

    The final straw for me was the Avast Free 'upgrade' installing Avast SafeZone browser without warning or agreement... you know, like the malware behaviour that Avast is supposed to protect me from. There's no separate un-installer for this PUP. To remove Avast SafeZone browser you have to 'Change' the installation of Avast Free and re-boot yet again.

    After 3 years of having Avast Free as the AV for me, my family and many of my friends, I've now un-installed it on my own PC and many others.]
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-04-23 at 11:25.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Avast SafeZone browser is a fork of Chromium, an open source browser project and I would be careful. There's been a bit of controversy about AV vendors pushing their own versions of web browsers and at least one recent security failure, e.g. Serious flaw discovered in Avast's security-focused SafeZone browser in February.

    I like the quote from the Google Project Zero researcher - Tavis Ormandy - who found the vulnerability: Selling antivirus doesn't qualify you to fork chromium, you're going to screw it up.

    [Slightly off-topic in the interests of caution - There have been several recent issues (some un-resolved) with the latest version of Avast - just have a look at posts on the Avast Support forum. I had my own personal experience of Avast Free breaking on multiple PC's following the 'upgrade' to its recent new version - a reproducible fault which I reported but got nowhere with a resolution.

    The final straw for me was the Avast Free 'upgrade' installing Avast SafeZone browser without warning or agreement... you know, like the malware behaviour that Avast is supposed to protect me from. There's no separate un-installer for this PUP. To remove Avast SafeZone browser you have to 'Change' the installation of Avast Free and re-boot yet again.

    After 3 years of having Avast Free as the AV for me, my family and many of my friends, I've now un-installed it on my own PC and many others.]
    Yup, every 6 months or so I seem to read about one anti-virus vendor or another screwing things up either with their latest "engine" update or a "new improved security feature" or an incompatible bit of code that breaks a couple of million customers' machines. We used Avira for several years until their popup ads caused both of our PCs to freeze and we were forced to reboot. Goodbye Avira. Also used Bitdefender for a little while, and can't remember what they did wrong except that it was maybe overprotective to the point of exasperation. Avast has been pretty good but with a couple of annoyances along the way, of course.

    Regarding the Safezone browser security flaw, the link you provided above includes this statement: "After Ormandy reported the flaw on Dec. 18, Avast deployed a temporary fix that broke the attack chain. The company provided a complete fix Wednesday as part of Avast version 2016.11.1.2253."

    After abandoning IE years ago, I have found lately that IE is fast, maybe faster than Chrome. And the new Edge browser is good, too, but both are a bit problematic because I use Lastpass password manager which integrates well with Chrome but less so or not at all with IE and Edge. I got the Lastpass Vault desktop app to help with that but it doesn't seem to want to autofill /login for me the way it does so conveniently on Chrome. And so it goes .... everything stable for a while then one or more apps/browsers/security f%*ks up and the dance begins anew.

    No one is ever "safe" on the internet and nothing you do online or post online is ever really "private" so we just do the best we can and get on with life.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 578 Times in 463 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starvinmarvin
    Regarding the Safezone browser security flaw, the link you provided above includes this statement: "After Ormandy reported the flaw on Dec. 18, Avast deployed a temporary fix that broke the attack chain. The company provided a complete fix Wednesday as part of Avast version 2016.11.1.2253."
    I saw that... but I also note the opinions of some security researchers remains the same, i.e. who are you going to have more confidence in... the expertise of browser techies in major browser vendors or those in AV companies forking an open-source browser project (even if Google do use some of Chromium's source code)?

    I agree with everything else you say, although funnily enough I've gone back to Avira Free and am pleased that I've only noticed one pop-up ad per day so far. Anyway, back on topic...

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    .... funnily enough I've gone back to Avira Free and am pleased that I've only noticed one pop-up ad per day so far.
    "only one popup ad per day" .... My heart is all aflutter !!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 578 Times in 463 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starvinmarvin
    "only one popup ad per day" .... My heart is all aflutter !!
    OK, I admit... this gave me my best laugh today.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •