Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing + Non Accessible Win 10 Functionality

    Short Version: Right clicking on Win 10 start button brings up menu as expected, but of the 18 choices, only "run" and "search" work. How do I get missing functionality? Command Prompt therefore, is NOT available.

    Detailed Version: Upgraded Win 7 to Win 10 several weeks ago. Love it for the most part, especially after we fixed a shutdown problem by turning off Fast start, but some critical functionality appears to not be working. Such as Disk Management & Command Prompt.

    However, of the 18 or so choices, only Run and SEARCH worked. I went on line to the Win 10 Community website and was connected to a service tech who said he could help me. He said he needed remote access which I granted. He then started deleting programs! I asked what he was doing and he said he was removing maleware that was causing conflicts. Since he hadn't run anything to reach that conclusion (that I could see) I questioned how he figured that Ad Aware, Advanced System Care, Microsoft Fix It Center, and CCleaner were maleware!

    He said that these programs were causing conflicts with the Microsoft commands, but not to worry, when he was done, Win 10 would work correctly, and he would activate the correct programs.

    After about two hours, and 3 reboots, he had deleted 21 programs that I noticed, and did another reboot after which, he didn't come back on!!!! I waited several minutes and then went back to the Web page and requested another chat. I we now 19th in line and when I finally connected, it didn't work. I tried communicating with the young lady, but there was no reply. At all!

    It was now after 11:00 pm and two hours online, and I had no idea what had been done. By the way, the right click on the start button Still didn't work! Talk about frustration.

    I did a full backup of the pc as it was after the "fix" and then did a complete recovery of the backup I had fortunately done the night before.

    Functionality still is missing. I haven't figured out how to get to disk management or command prompt any other way. It doesn't come up with additional information under help or anything else. Several suggestions were undoable since they required command prompt to initiate.

    Obviously something is not right, but I have no idea what it is. I created a Win 10 ISO from the upgrade process, so considering trying to run it again, but don't know the ramifications. Could be worse than I already am.


    Harris Guilmette
    guilmette@aol.com

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    To start a command prompt, click the search button, type cmd, click (or right click if you need an elevated command prompt).

    An alternate way to get to disk management is to start File Explorer, right click on This PC, click on Manage. Disk management will be in the Computer Management console which starts.

    Have you run SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt?
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    That would be unlikely Joe with no cmd prompt.

    @ HG - By booting up with a Win 10 bootable ISO you can perform an offboot sfc /scannow if you are unable to access the cmd prompt through Joe's suggestion.

    If you are able to access the cmd prompt through Joe's suggestion, see what this cmd does for you before running the sfc and then run the sfc /scannow

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    There is a space before each forward slash.

    http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-run-t...does-not-boot/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-04-23 at 19:03.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both for your help. The right click with shift gave me the command prompt, but sec /scanned did not find any "integrity violations." Then I got the disc from sumo and ran that. It finished with [========== 20.0% ]

    No change in functionality.

    Harris

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe:
    PS: RIGHT CLICKED on This PC, and clicked on Manage, but nothing happened.
    Harris

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Harris Guilmette View Post
    Thank you both for your help. The right click with shift gave me the command prompt, but sec /scanned did not find any "integrity violations." Then I got the disc from sumo and ran that. It finished with [========== 20.0% ]
    If it finished at 20%, it didn't finish.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    The /restorehealth cmd can appear to hang at 20% but you have to wait for it to complete - give it another go, although if the sfc /scannow came up clean then so probably will that.

    EDIT- There are two cmds that may fix - the first is for Windows apps and the second for the Start menu - perhaps run the second first but run them from Windows Powershell.

    Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

    Get-appxpackage -all shellexperience -packagetype bundle |% {add-appxpackage -register -disabledevelopmentmode ($_.installlocation + “\appxmetadata\appxbundlemanifest.xml”)}

    This article may also help -

    http://www.techtantri.com/windows-10...d-apps-folder/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-04-24 at 17:53.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you Fred Langa! Read the Windows Secrets email earlier today and SUCCESS!!!!

    I took a slightlly different approach (more like a sledgehammer rather than a feather) by using CC Cleaner. Instead of removing the context menu items one at a time, I disabled all of them. I always wondered how these things got into the context menu, and what I could do about them. Now I know. There were 76 items in the list! I disabled all of them and now my right click options work both on the start menu and the task bar.

    So far, I haven't missed a single one, but if I do, I know how to enable it again.

    Wish I'd have had this information over a month ago when I first posted it. Would have saved a tremendous amount of effort and pain.

    Thank you

    Harris Guilmette

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for posting back. You can use the "Thread tools" drop down above the first post to mark this as solved.
    Joe

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •