Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger MikeHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Unhappy Help find Windows 64 bit raid driver for AMD SB950 that works

    Long story short. Bought new AMD components & wanted to run same video card, sound card, PSU, Optical drive, & SSDs I was running on an Intel rig.

    I am able to set up my raid array in the raid BIOS.
    The raid array can be seen in BIOS as a boot option.
    When I goto install windows 7 pro 64 bit, it asks for a driver because t he drive selection window is blank.
    I browse PC & find USB drive.
    Find the AMD ACHI/Raid 64 bit driver.
    Select & it goes thru process of installing. (my flash drives have built in LED & flash normally, during this they do not)
    Comes back. Drive selection window is still blank.

    I have tried so many raid drivers from so many websites, etc.
    None have worked.

    System specs:
    FX-8300
    GA 970A-DS3P v2
    2x250gig Samsung Evo 850 SSDs
    2x8gig Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz
    Samsung DVD-RW
    EVGA GTX980
    SeaSonic 1050w PSU
    Audigy SE

    Anyone knows of this issue please link a download for a driver that might work.
    I have read the controller just isn't capable of handling the speeds 2 SSDs can put out. Noticed this issue way before win10 came out. So it's been around awhile & nothing's been done about it. Next time I will do more research when buying any AMD anything. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeHawk View Post
    Long story short. Bought new AMD components & wanted to run same video card, sound card, PSU, Optical drive, & SSDs I was running on an Intel rig.

    I am able to set up my raid array in the raid BIOS.
    The raid array can be seen in BIOS as a boot option.
    When I goto install windows 7 pro 64 bit, it asks for a driver because t he drive selection window is blank.
    I browse PC & find USB drive.
    Find the AMD ACHI/Raid 64 bit driver.
    Select & it goes thru process of installing. (my flash drives have built in LED & flash normally, during this they do not)
    Comes back. Drive selection window is still blank.

    I have tried so many raid drivers from so many websites, etc.
    None have worked.

    System specs:
    FX-8300
    GA 970A-DS3P v2
    2x250gig Samsung Evo 850 SSDs
    2x8gig Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866Mhz
    Samsung DVD-RW
    EVGA GTX980
    SeaSonic 1050w PSU
    Audigy SE

    Anyone knows of this issue please link a download for a driver that might work.
    I have read the controller just isn't capable of handling the speeds 2 SSDs can put out. Noticed this issue way before win10 came out. So it's been around awhile & nothing's been done about it. Next time I will do more research when buying any AMD anything. Thanks in advance.
    Don't have a solution and haven't worked with RAID in quite awhile but I've seen motherboards that support RAID have the drivers come with the board [on a CD]. I'd check with the maker of the GA 970A-DS3P v2 board. Maybe Gigabyte.com?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    MikeHawk (2016-04-26)

  4. #3
    New Lounger MikeHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    lmao

    yea I tried the ones off the disk, off the Gigabyte website. Off 20 other websites that have raid drivers. None have worked. But thanks for contributing nothing & bumping up your post count.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to MikeHawk For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-04-27)

  6. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Mike, you may want to be a bit more generous in your responses if you want people to help.

    cheers, Paul

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    MartinM (2016-04-28),satrow (2016-04-27)

  8. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Have you tried the Auto Detect and Install http://www.amd.com/en-us/markets/game/downloads#

    If that doesn't give you what you want, scroll down the main page and click on About us which will then give you a Contact us link where you can open a ticket to which they will respond.

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/contact/email-form
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-04-27 at 03:09.

  9. #6
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 576 Times in 479 Posts
    Check that you don't need to setup the RAID stripe first, boot to the RAID prompt and setup your disks, then reboot to install the RAID drivers and then Windows.

    What you need is the "AMD SATA RAID Driver (Preinstall driver, press F6 during Windows* setup to read from floppy)" driver, unzip it and put it on a USB stick/floppy:
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=5216#dl

    The following files are what you need:
    x64\AHCIx64s INF Microsoft Windows storport setup file
    x64\AHCIx64s SYS Microsoft Windows storport driver for x64 platforms
    x64\AHCIx64s CAT Microsoft Windows WHQL Certified catalog file (place holder)

    I've read the some Samsung SSDs don't work well on certain 'boards in RAID, never looked into it so I've no idea if it's applicable to your setup.

  10. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    AMD is always the best source for its drivers and by definition the most up to date (especially since Gigabyte's updates stopped in 2014):

    https://support.amd.com/en-us/downlo...indows+10+-+64

    AMD RAID has never been thought of kindly. I just noticed satrow's comment on your RAIDing SSDs which is still fairly new. Hopefully up to date chipset/AHCI followed by RAID drivers all around will help with that.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2016-04-27 at 16:52. Reason: ssd comment

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •