New Lounger
    Thanks

is this possible in Excel? i'm guessing VBA

hi all..

ok i'm lost as to where to even start here so any help will be greatly appreciated.

here is what I want to do, I'd like to be able to choose a task from a drop down menu in a cell, have that change the colour of the cell (this I can do using a list with conditional formatting), but then I want the text in the cell to not show so I can enter a number value in and have a formula work on that number value while the cell remains colour coded..

is this even possible?

as far as I can tell, what I want to do is conditionally format the colour of a cell from a list box, then keep the value of the colour and eraze everythign else then manually type in a number. with me?

please help.. I'm new to VBA, I'll be playing with recording Macros to see how Excel creates the cells and formatting so I can try and work this out..

thanks in advance

oh the whole thing has to be triggered by the choice from the list.
    Rob

Edit:
    as I need to keep the original list available to change the colour formatting and I can only have one cell holding one lot of information I am thinking I will probably need to add a cell to the side for the numerical value, not what I was hoping for but it'll work ;-)
    Last edited by ShuggyShug; 2016-04-30 at 20:06.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    It would be possible to do it once (if you used a macro) but you can't arbitrarily jump between a dropdown and coloured cell behaviour depending on what the user is thinking they want to do.

A second cell to separate the tasks is the simplest option. It is easy to colour the text to match the background fill so the cell 'appears' empty.