Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

New ASUS build will not post

I just tried to start my new build with ASUS Maximus VIII Formula. It will not POST. I have a Samsung M.2 950 Pro mounted on the board and no hard drives connected. There are two optical drives connected. When I try to start, both optical drive trays will open. The board lighting turns on. The display code is 00. Fans connected to the board do not operate. CPU fan is running. Nothing shows up on the monitor. How do I get it to POST?

Installed: 2x8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance 2400
    Skylake i7 6700

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bob,

Have you checked the BIOS to see if the M.2 slot is bootable and in the boot order.

You may also have to use a HDD or SDD to get it to post to install Windows on the M.2.

As I have no first hand experience with M.2 drives/slots I'm taking shots in the dark based on past experience.

HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    RG - That may be a problem. I have thought about putting a HD in or simply removing the M.2. The thing that is perplexing is that there are two fans plugged into the mobo. When I press the start button, the CPU cooler fan starts, but the two chassis fans do not. {There is a 3rd fan that I have not yet plugged in.} I can't imagine anything that would prevent the two fans from starting, especially since the connectors are designed so that they only connect in the correct position.

Since I have not used an M.2 before, it is an unknown for me. I have read that some people had trouble installing Windows to it, which is why I didn't connect anything else that might be a default for Windows.

I haven't checked anything on the BIOS because it doesn't display. The monitor remains blank. I am considering switching to a different monitor, but the fan thing still bugs me.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Thanks