Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts

    OS & Data partitions full image restorable backups via Image for Windows

    From another backup/restore thread...
    Quote Originally Posted by RockE View Post
    #RolandJS; I'd be interested in learning what difficulties you've had in the use of Image for Windows. Perhaps you should start a thread on the subject. I think there are others here who could help resolve your problem(s) with IfW.
    Lettuce take RockE's advice!
    I installed Image for Windows with all the bells and whistles, I have the pay-for version. I did the "gimme control" install.
    My first attempt to backup my laptop's OS partition [approx 460+- GB; 1/2 filled], after 1.5 -2 hours, I discovered no backup image file existed.
    Can somebody give me the IfW settings needed to invoke an on-demand full image backup of my OS partition?

    I will attempt to follow any and all setting-by-setting, step-by-step instructions.

    Meanwhile, for some time now, I have successfully made backups and restored OS partitions with both Macrium Reflect Pro and Acronis True Image.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    I'm interested... in addition to Macrium Reflect Pro and Acronis True Image, your reasoning for a third imaging solution was...?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    I'm interested... in addition to Macrium Reflect Pro and Acronis True Image, your reasoning for a third imaging solution was...?
    A wise grasshopper learns to listen and harken when a near-grandmasters speak. Bbearren, and a few others, in different threads, mentioned different components of TeraByte Unlimited -- Image for Windows, BootItBareMetal, and such. Finally, this grasshopper hopped to it when TeraByteU had a big sale and purchased the BigSix; downloaded and installed everything found in the paid-for account. I believe Image for Windows is quite different from MRpro and ATI, IfW will expand my knowledge.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2016-05-01 at 00:29.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS
    I believe Image for Windows is quite different from MRpro and ATI, IfW will expand my knowledge.
    Many years ago I used 'Acronis True Image' at home (and 'Ghost' at work). I never liked the 'ATI' GUI (too confusing) so started using 'Ghost' at home too. I had a few issues with 'Ghost' as HDD technology changed so tried Clonezilla - nope, nope, nope.

    Next I used 'ReDo Backup' (very good, but limited in functionality) then 'AOMEI Backupper' which was also very good, albeit quite new then.

    After recommendations here on WSL I then tried 'Macrium Reflect' and have stayed with it for the last 2 years. I was just interested why you had changed to 'Image for Windows' and whether you had found any advantages over 'Macrium Reflect'.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,764
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts

    Create a Full Partition/Drive Image Using Image For Windows, part 1

    Upon launch, the default selection for Image For Windows is Backup (Full).

    Full Backup.PNG

    Click the Settings button to configure Image For Windows; I use these:

    General Settings.PNG

    Click Next, then select the partition/drive for which you wish to create an image. Note that you can select the root of the drive, which will include all partitions, but the destination for your drive image must have sufficient free space to hold the image file. Or you can just select one or more partitions on the drive.

    Selection.PNG

    Click Next and select the destination for your drive image file. I use a dedicated partition with a folder/sub-folder structure to store several images. Walk though such a tree by double-clicking at each step. Double-clicking a folder will progress to the next level automatically.

    Destination.PNG

    Destination1.PNG

    Destination2.PNG

    Destination3.PNG

    When you've reached your final destination folder, you can use the default filename,

    Filename.PNG

    or use a filename of your choice.

    Filename1.PNG

    Click Next and select your image file settings. After ticking the boxes, you can click Save Defaults and the next time you run Image For Windows you can just click through this screen. I use these and the default Enhanced Speed - A.

    Image Default Settings.PNG

    ...continued in part 2.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2016-05-01 at 13:47.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,764
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts

    Create a Full Partition/Drive Image Using Image For Windows, part 2

    After choosing your filename (and setting defaults) click Next for a Summary of the current Image For Windows job.

    Summary.PNG

    Click Start and PHYLock will start waiting for Windows to stop writing to the partition you've selected for the imaging process.

    PHYLock Waiting.PNG

    While PHYLock is waiting, you can open the Process Priority dropdown and change how importantly Windows will view this operation; I use High.

    Select Process Priority.PNG

    Once writing to the partition has stopped, the imaging process begins. In this particular instance, it was almost 10 minutes before Windows got caught up with its writing to the OS partition.

    Imaging Progress.PNG

    While the drive image is being made, your filename should appear in your destination, but will have a size of 0 KB.

    Image File.PNG

    After imaging has completed, validation begins.

    Image Validation.PNG

    At this point, the filename in your destination has a size.

    Image File1.PNG

    After validation is complete, Image For Windows will inform you of a successful process or a failure. You can return to the Menu and continue imaging, or close Image For Windows.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2016-05-01 at 13:42.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-05-19),Lugh (2016-05-20),RetiredGeek (2016-05-01),RockE (2016-05-01),RolandJS (2016-05-01)

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    "...I was just interested why you had changed to 'Image for Windows' and whether you had found any advantages over 'Macrium Reflect'..." -Rick Corbett

    I continue to use Macrium Reflect! It really works! And, I continue to use Acronis True Image, it works!
    I simply want to add to my knowledge of restorable backup-making - IfW seems to be a great 3rd choice.

    bbearren -- many many thanks for your gracious posts! I saved this url onto my hard-drive. I will be following your instructions during next week.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    bbearren or anyone using Image for Windows: With Macrium Reflect, I can pause it, then hypernate the whole Windows session. I can't find a pause button for Image for Windows -- would it hurt the backup process if I simply hybernate the Windows session while IfW is in progress? Of course, just before reawakening Windows, I would reconnect the appropriate usb external pancake platter-clatter hard-drive.

    I have done an OS partition backup; now hoping to finnish a data partition backup.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  10. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
    That's interesting about Macrium Reflect Roland, I've never missed a "pause" button (would I want to use one?).
    There is no "pause" button within IfW - at least not AFAIK.

    Now that you mention it, perhaps when an unexpected tornado swings my way I might want a pause button(?). No, on second thought I suppose I'd "cancel" the image (...or just run away!).

    On one of my computers the OS partition has almost 60 gigabytes of used capacity and when I image that partition to another internal drive it takes about 10 minutes, and produces an image file of about 21 gigabytes.

    My data drive (one partition) currently has two such image files on it, along with my business records, Word documents, PDFs, drawings, family pictures, a copy of my web site, and other important data. That data drive amounts to about 784 gigabytes. To back up that data I simply copy its content to another drive (which I temporarily place in my hard drive dock).

    Out of curiosity I imaged my data drive once and discovered that the image was only slightly less than the original number of bytes (haven't bothered to image it since then). In short, my data doesn't lend itself to much compression so I don't bother imaging it, I just copy it somewhere else.

    Let us know your results and give us a comparison of your three imaging products, if you will. We'd like to know how they stack up in respect to speed and size of the resulting images (i.e., compression).

    RockE

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rock,

    My data drive (one partition) currently has two such image files on it
    These are already compressed so further compression by imaging them is unlikely! I'd imaging they take up the bulk of your data drive causing the perceived lack of compression.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    Shofar, I've used Image for Windows for OS and data partitions onto SeaKAT ext hd. As normally done, I've used Macrium Reflect Pro for OS and data partitions onto SeaKIT ext hd. The MR and IfW compressions although different are not different enough. The times taken are not logged, so I really cannot say which utility uses more time, yet.

    On all three computers, I successfully got Macrium Reflect into bcd-boot, now Windows 7 and MR are the two choices awaiting my hi-lite and enter-key. -- I made a new thread, we'll work out bcd-boot in that new thread.

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...s-boot-choices
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2016-05-10 at 12:50.

  13. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Rock,



    These are already compressed so further compression by imaging them is unlikely! I'd imaging they take up the bulk of your data drive causing the perceived lack of compression.

    HTH
    Actually they take up about 41 gigabytes of the 784, so the other stuff is also pretty compact.
    Last edited by RockE; 2016-05-10 at 23:59. Reason: grammar

  14. #13
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 130 Times in 127 Posts
    bbearren! I wanted to thank you very much for the great tutorial earlier in this thread! I was able to follow your crystal clear instructions and successfully make full images of both OS and data partitions. I later used IfW's internal explorer to pull out a document via copy and extract, so I'm pretty sure a full restore will also work. I plan to use IfW on the other two computers as well. I think it's fun and educational to use more than one backup/restore program.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to RolandJS For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-05-19)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •