Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Why has Google Chrome suddenly started freezing?

    I have a Lenovo PC running W7 and use FF and CG. I like it when I open chrome and all my usual websites are waiting. Lately though, a lot of these websites have either frozen as I'm using them or fail to load at all with just the whirling circle showing that they are trying to connect. It's become such a nuisance that I even tried Opera! (But I miss Chrome). Has anyone else had this problem?

    I'm considering uninstalling Chrome and reinstalling it using Revouninstaller and doing a really deep uninstal. Do you think this would help?

    I have uninstalled and reinstalled Chrome but I'm still getting the same two websites (Twitter and Mailonline)that seem to launch OK then after I've visited and gone to another tab, they just sit there trying to load. I'm stumped!
    Last edited by sylviesinc; 2016-05-02 at 15:25.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    Is it reasonable for us to assume that Opera isn't freezing up in the way that Chrome is? That would be diagnostically helpful for us to know.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Neither Opera nor Firefox is freezing or trying to load continuously like the pages I open in GC. There were times last night when I was using Chrome when it was working fine so I will use it again today and maybe it has calmed down? I hope!

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    Do you run any ad blocking extensions? Stuff like NoScript, AdBlock Plus? Have you removed Java?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I disabled Adblock to see if it was the culprit..no difference...and I don't have Java at all!

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    Sorry, I'm running out of ideas here. I don't use Chrome.

    What I can say is that I have used IE for many years and pauses are common. My observations are that the ad networks seem to be a big cause of this kind of behavior. Some sites I use will partly render and then freeze until the ad windows fill in. Others will display and then at intervals, it seems the ad windows will update and trigger a complete page refresh, while I'm reading the window! Very annoying especially since the window routinely shifts a bit and I have to reposition.

    I also suspect some of the security software I use does some of this too! Not page repositioning but causing page loading slowdowns. Sigh.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to BHarder For This Useful Post:

    sylviesinc (2016-05-05)

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I suspect that it must have something to do with the latest Chrome update as it has only happened since then. I'll probably have to wait until a lot of others complain and then maybe something will be done...meanwhile I'm using Opera as I can't get FF to open with multiple pages! Thank you for trying

  9. #8
    Star Lounger cpwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    chrome suddenly glazed over on mine recently. i used a few of the tips in this link
    "Is your Google Chrome browser feeling a little slower than it once did?"

    a guide and steps to help you make Chrome faster and more stable again, and to reduce the amount of RAM the browser eats up.
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/ten-tip...h-ram-it-uses/


    Mod EDIT: fixed URL.
    Last edited by satrow; 2016-05-06 at 05:57. Reason: Corrected URL.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to cpwilson For This Useful Post:

    sylviesinc (2016-05-06)

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you. I have tried a few suggested things but I'll certainly have a look at this and see if it helps.....Oops, just clicked this link and I get "Page not found" error! I Googled the phrase and it's taken me to the page so I'll give it a go!
    Last edited by sylviesinc; 2016-05-06 at 03:09.

  12. #10
    Star Lounger cpwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    apologies for the poor paste of the link.
    but good to hear you were able to recover it so well.
    just in case folks are wondering, i'll make a better job of pasting it here
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/ten-tip...tag=TRE17cfd61

  13. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Well I tried everything, even a complete reset (and I've already tried removing it and reinstalling) but I'm still getting the "snap" notification showing that the page has crashed. Reloading it works usually but then it will freeze and nothing I do unfreezes it. As this is really inconvenient when I'm in the middle of doing something, I'm giving up and I'm using Opera from now on. Thanks for all your help!

  14. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    I believe you are on the right track. Odds are high that a recent Chrome update caused this; however you don't know about the server side of the picture and it's possible a server side change caused this too. Either way it's important to ask, "what has changed and could that be the cause?"

    It's a good question to ask why several sites seem to have problems for you. That would tend to imply a client side update as being the culprit. However the advertising systems many web sites use are indeed networks and an ad network change could easily affect multiple sites. In fact there are media groups like Penton that themselves run multiple sites so a media group change, outside of advertising network changes, could also explain your symptoms. Therefore we still cannot rule out server side alterations as being the cause.

    The argument against this is that Opera isn't causing you problems.

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Well, so far at least, I have had no problems with either Firefox or Opera crashing or freezing so, for now, I'm leaving Chrome alone!

  16. #14
    Star Lounger cpwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    I'm using the 32 bit version and can't remember the last time Chrome has crashed on the two Windows 7 machines that I currently have in use. I won't upgrade to the 64 bit version until I have a problem or am forced to do so. but also because i wonder if chrome 64-bit is better. some friends have suffered crashes with 64.

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/chrome-...th-installing/

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to cpwilson For This Useful Post:

    sylviesinc (2016-05-07)

  18. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ah ha...I just checked and I'm not on the 64 bit version although I do have W7 64 bit installed on my PC. It may be worth my while to download the 64 bit version of Chrome and see if it's any better?


    I just noticed that the 64 bit version is still beta...I think I' wait!
    Last edited by sylviesinc; 2016-05-07 at 05:05.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •