Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrade Win 8.1 Home Computer to Win 10 Pro Based Upon Unused Win 7.0 Pro License

    I purchased a Dell laptop with Win 8.1 pro and a Dell desktop with Win 8.1 home last year. I was interested in learning how the two systems differed and Win 10 was coming soon. I updated the laptop to Win 10 with no issues. I have a Win7 3 license pack purchased several years ago of which I have only used two of the licenses. I would like to update my desktop to Win 10 pro based upon the unused Win 7 pro license. However I do not want to convert the desktop 8.1 to 7 pro given the amount of work that would take. Do you have any ideas how I might be able to do this?

    I use the desktop as my main development machine for a business strategy simulation used in higher education and the laptop to support the simulation when I travel. Thus I would like the two operating systems to be identical.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritzsche View Post
    I purchased a Dell laptop with Win 8.1 pro and a Dell desktop with Win 8.1 home last year. I was interested in learning how the two systems differed and Win 10 was coming soon. I updated the laptop to Win 10 with no issues. I have a Win7 3 license pack purchased several years ago of which I have only used two of the licenses. I would like to update my desktop to Win 10 pro based upon the unused Win 7 pro license. However I do not want to convert the desktop 8.1 to 7 pro given the amount of work that would take. Do you have any ideas how I might be able to do this?

    I use the desktop as my main development machine for a business strategy simulation used in higher education and the laptop to support the simulation when I travel. Thus I would like the two operating systems to be identical.
    Is there some reason that you don't want to convert the desktop directly to Windows 10 other than to get Pro?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    The 3-pack of Win7 I got for Home Premium, and have ever seen, was for Upgrading over Vista and WinXP. I did one Upgrade to Win10 over that particular version without issue. The pack contained both the 32-bit disc and the 64-bit disc. Vista was available in both types but only WinXP Pro offered a 64-bit version and a 32-bit version.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Is there some reason that you don't want to convert the desktop directly to Windows 10 other than to get Pro?
    No. I plan to convert to Win 10 but I would like Pro to keep both machines in parallel and there are several features in Pro that makes development easier.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    422
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    Perhaps you should read what Microsoft says about that?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...windows-10-pro
    Just saying...

    RockE

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RockE For This Useful Post:

    Fritzsche (2016-05-09)

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had not found that page. It worked like a charm. I really appreciate your help.

    Dave

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    422
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritzsche View Post
    I had not found that page. It worked like a charm. I really appreciate your help.

    Dave
    You're welcome. Glad you got it sorted.

    RockE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •