Thanks

Free Upgrade Ends

Microsoft has stated that the free upgrade eligibility to Windows 10 will end on July 29, 2016. After that, it will cost USD $119 to upgrade...

Does that finally mean that those of us that do not want this upgrade or can not successfully upgrade to Windows 10 can finally get on with business as usual after this date, without having to jump through hoops to avoid this potentially unwanted upgrade?

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    One hopes.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    WS Loungers have described how to download an install version of Windows 10, to, say, a memory stick.

If I were to do that, but to delay actually installing Win 10 until some date after 29 Jul 16, would my upgrade still be free-of-charge? In other words, is the critical date the date that I download Win 10, or the date that I activate it? At present, I am a contented Win 7 Pro 64-bit user, but I'm probably going to have to go to Win 10 sooner or later.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jgstanley View Post
    Microsoft has stated that the free upgrade eligibility to Windows 10 will end on July 29, 2016. After that, it will cost USD $119 to upgrade...

Does that finally mean that those of us that do not want this upgrade or can not successfully upgrade to Windows 10 can finally get on with business as usual after this date, without having to jump through hoops to avoid this potentially unwanted upgrade?
    That would be my guess, but I'm not letting down my guard.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    My understanding is the transformation must occur by July 29th. But you can image your present drive, swap the OS, then image that, then re-image your old setup and be ready to go if you decide much later to swap to Win10.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts