Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    403
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    anyone else getting this? Is this okay?

    I just started noticing this notice inside Internet Explorer. I'm wondering if it's legitimate? I've been hearing that IE is under attack and wondering if this could be some trick to get you to click on something bad. Anyone else getting this?


    New thing.jpg

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,871
    Thanks
    358
    Thanked 629 Times in 526 Posts
    IE is always under attack.

    This looks like a standard post-update attempt by MS to get you to use Bing/MS spyware/tracking, check the lower button to retain your current settings.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 55 Times in 48 Posts
    I also got that notification. I did just as Satrow suggested and all was fine.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    403
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
    Okay, thank you both very much. That's a relief.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,871
    Thanks
    358
    Thanked 629 Times in 526 Posts
    No worries - stay alert

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,078
    Thanks
    187
    Thanked 712 Times in 626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    This looks like a standard post-update attempt by MS to get you to use Bing/MS spyware/tracking, check the lower button to retain your current settings.
    Your solution to Bing "spyware" is Google tracking?

    This was a change in IE11 four or five months ago: Internet Explorer 11 will now lock Home Page and Search Engine

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    403
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
    FYI I have IE set to the "about blank" blank start page. I always have. My default search engine is set to Google. I don't use IE much if at all anymore since I've been reading so much about the risks of using it. I've been using FF for about 5 years now and I like it too.
    Last edited by CEScott; 2016-05-15 at 12:03.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •