Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    password problem

    I have an MSI win 7 a6200 laptop. I got new one and setting this one up to give to a charity.
    I used to use a Bios password/supervisor password. The one which you have to put in before Windows will boot.
    Because I am giving machine away, I removed this password.

    Previously, I had shop restore Win7, so no factory setting is available. I did, however, make a drive Image shortly after that.
    I just restored laptop to that image.

    Now a BIG problem.

    Previously, I had laptop set with a BIOS password. I think that is what you call it; you turn machine on and prior to boot, you type in password.

    As I was getting rid of machine, I removed that password in BIOS.
    I did not have the separate user pass word.
    Now with the old Image installed, windows boots and demands a password.
    It will not accept the BIOS pass word and I never used any other password on te machine. I have gone into bios, it shows that I cleared the 'supervisor' password.
    Any ideas on how to clear this up? I have a charity expecting the machine as a donation.
    Perhaps, I could use my win 7 upgrade DVD?
    Would this by-pass the user [password?

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
    You never used one in the past (when the image was created)?
    Have you tried just pressing the Enter-key (i.e., not entering anything at the prompt)?

    You may want to just reset the password. Try the Offline Windows Password & Registry Editor. You'll need to create a boot CD or a bootable flash drive (see the documentation).
    http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html
    Last edited by RockE; 2016-05-14 at 22:01. Reason: added link

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RockE For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-05-15)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    What he said!

    cheers, Paul

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you. It finally worked.
    Oddly, the cmd showed 'no password' was set up[ That was what I thought].
    But even with 'no password', when I told it to blank or remove the [non-existent] password. it did and it all opened normally.

    Again thank you. Sorry it took me so long to get it done.

  6. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
    Congratulations! No apology necessary.
    Glad you got it sorted.

    RockE

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •