Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    Is Microsoft Forgetful or Devious?

    Hey Y'all,

    I'm not much for conspiracy theories but this is starting to bug me big time.

    I run my desktop using a Local Account in Win 10 Pro.

    About the only time I have need for my Microsoft Account is when I play Mine Sweeper. Now I don't mind putting in my acct. information to do this but MS promises to save this information (see graphic) yet every 3-4 days this pops up again!
    buggingme.PNG

    And no I haven't run CCleaner or any other cleanup program that would wipe any cookies or temp files out to cause this to happen.

    So what's the deal Microsoft?

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    I wish I knew. I use Microsoft Account.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    RG, post your concern in the Feedback app. You could also contact Microsoft support if it becomes too big of an irritant.

    I use a Microsoft account as well but I limit sharing.

    Jerry
    Last edited by jwitalka; 2016-05-19 at 19:28.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Which build? Did you just install it?
    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Or just stop playing Minesweeper and get back to work...
    ROTFLOL.gif

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rick, That's RETIRED GEEK...get it!

    Joe, It's the production build and it's been installed for months!.

    Jerry, I'll fire up my laptop with Insider Build and do that.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek
    Rick, That's RETIRED GEEK...get it!
    Yeah... like none of us have ever seen your posts about, for example, PowerShell. If that's not like really, really hard work then I don't know what is.
    ROTFLOL.gif

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    RG - In all seriousness, I also run W10 ('standard' not 'Insider Preview') using a local account... but a Cortana search (which I have limited to local searches only) doesn't find Minesweeper (or 'mine', etc.).

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rick,

    It's in the Windows Store. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek
    It's in the Windows Store.
    Many thanks. That explains why I missed it.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    About the only time I have need for my Microsoft Account is when I play Mine Sweeper. Now I don't mind putting in my acct. information to do this but MS promises to save this information (see graphic) yet every 3-4 days this pops up again!
    I wonder if this is in any way related to a somewhat similar problem I've seen and another fellow has reported where OneNote seems to lose track of the account information.

    For me, this is with Win7 and has resulted in my having to delete a credential from Credential Manager and let Windows recreate it.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •