Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts

    Clean install - How does Windows know what version to install?

    I'm planning on doing a Windows 7 Pro SP1 to Windows 10 "clean install" using the DVD I created with the Media Creation Tool. I'll let Windows 10 upgrade happen so my machine is registered/activated and then I'll do the clean install...but I'm puzzled on how Windows will know what version to "clean" install. Windows 7 Pro will upgrade to Windows 10 Pro via the update process but when I then do a clean install how will the Windows 10 install know my previous version was Pro (so Windows 10 Pro will be installed)?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    OMG,

    You'll have to supply your Win 7 Key and you'll get the Win 10 version that corresponds to that key.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    From the registration/activation if you do it that way, or the Windows 7/8/10 key you enter if you don't.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    That helps a lot! Thanks for your help.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    That makes it unanimous. Thank you.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    If you downloaded/ran the Media Creation Tool on the Windows 7 device you're going to clean install Windows 10 then the MCT would have shown you a default 'Recommended' download based on what you're already running. For example:

    mct_default.png
    Click to enlarge

    So, unless you removed the tick from the checkbox, MS has already worked out the right version.

    There's more to it than this but that's the basics.

    PS - You don't have to upgrade first. Have a look at this article: Clean Install Windows 10 Directly without having to Upgrade First. I've used this method several times and it works flawlessly.

    Hope this helps...

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-05-24)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    So, unless you removed the tick from the checkbox, MS has already worked out the right version.
    Nothing there about Pro or Home though, which was the question.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR
    Nothing there about Pro or Home though, which was the question.
    Good point. I should have been clearer.

    If you use the Clean Install Windows 10 Directly without having to Upgrade First method and skip entering a product key (to use a GenuineTicket.xml file later) then you see this:

    win10_choose1.png
    Click to enlarge

    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-05-24 at 00:54. Reason: Added wrong screenshot

  10. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    If you downloaded/ran the Media Creation Tool on the Windows 7 device you're going to clean install Windows 10 then the MCT would have shown you a default 'Recommended' download based on what you're already running. For example:

    mct_default.png
    Click to enlarge

    So, unless you removed the tick from the checkbox, MS has already worked out the right version.

    There's more to it than this but that's the basics.

    PS - You don't have to upgrade first. Have a look at this article: Clean Install Windows 10 Directly without having to Upgrade First. I've used this method several times and it works flawlessly.

    Hope this helps...

    Rick - Yes, I've seen that, but the download doesn't ask you what version (Home or Pro) you want to download (which sort of makes sense). On the other hand, the clean-install tutorial looks very very nice and I'm thinking that's the way I'll do the install. Thanks!!

  11. #10
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OldMainframeGuy
    Rick - Yes, I've seen that, but the download doesn't ask you what version (Home or Pro) you want to download (which sort of makes sense). On the other hand, the clean-install tutorial looks very very nice and I'm thinking that's the way I'll do the install. Thanks!!
    My apologies... once again, I should have explained better.

    By default, the MCT suggests what it thinks is the right architecture you need, i.e. x32 or x64. If you remove the tick from the checkbox then, in addition to being able to choose a different install Language and/or Edition, you can also choose to download an install that includes both x32 and x64 architectures. (At installation time you have to choose which architecture you want to install... it's not automatic.)

    Here's the important bit in terms of answering your question: The Windows 10 download (via MCT) includes both Home and Pro versions. (They're not actually seperate versions, just one combined version where components and features are made/not made available to the installation depending on the product key used.)

    If you enter a product key then the install will choose Home or Pro (components and features) automatically. If you don't enter a product key, (for example, if you're doing a clean install without first upgrading and using a GenuineTicket.xml file later) then you'll need to choose Home or Pro manually. (If you choose the wrong one - for example, hoping to move from Home to Pro - then you'll find that your stored GenuineTicket.xml file won't activate the new installation.)

    Hope this helps... (and hope I've explained better this time. )
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-05-24 at 20:08.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •