Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Win10 slow boot

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Win10 slow boot

    I have a friend with a Win10Dell laptop (delivered with Win10). In the last week or so, booting has become very slow. He told me that Num Lock used to be turned on automatically (and no longer is). After typing his PIN#, Windows goes to a black screen for about 2 minutes and eventually comes up OK.

    Later last night, I did see a procedure to "keep" the NumLock key on. So that is fixed. Still having slow boots at that time. Some other posts around the web seem to believe that graphics drivers are a possible. I'm not sure what graphics hardware that he has.

    Any thoughts?

    K
    Last edited by kevmeist; 2016-05-25 at 08:19. Reason: Added NumLock update

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you checked startup entries? You can use MSCONFIG or Autoruns or WhatInStartup.

    Are there network devices which are turned off when the system is booted? If the system is trying to automatically connect and the device is off it may take quite a while for the process to time out and let things continue.
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Yep, checked the STARTUP stuff. The only that seemed "doubtful" was "Apple IE Dav". I disabled that but made no difference. He has 2 laptops and I believe no other network devices. He, of course, uses wireless connections...maybe there is some connection issue there. I used mostly wired devices, so don't see those types of problems.

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Have you checked startup entries? You can use MSCONFIG or [url=https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902[Autoruns[/url] or WhatInStartup.

    Are there network devices which are turned off when the system is booted? If the system is trying to automatically connect and the device is off it may take quite a while for the process to time out and let things continue.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Does he have any drives mapped from one pc to the other?
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Not as far as I know...don't think he does that type of thing. I'll check.

    Thanks,

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Does he have any drives mapped from one pc to the other?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    You should get him to check the event logs to see if there is anything identifiable during the boot process.
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I suspect that he doesn't even know about event logs. Every time I look at these...it's hard to make any useful data from them. He doesn't believe that he has any networked drives...I suspect, as I said, that he wouldn't even know about this.

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    You should get him to check the event logs to see if there is anything identifiable during the boot process.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Can you use something like Teamviewer to remotely view his event logs?
    Joe

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I'm sure I could (if he would let me). I have NOT asked him yet. I think he was about to factory reset thye PC. I've been busy all day today, so have not spoken to him at all.

    Thanks,

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Can you use something like Teamviewer to remotely view his event logs?

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Factory reset is pretty drastic. Why not try a Win10 reset selecting the keep my files option?
    Joe

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Dunno, Joe.....Is that a new feature in Win10?

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Factory reset is pretty drastic. Why not try a Win10 reset selecting the keep my files option?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Started with Win8. Go to Start | Settings | Update & Security | Recovery | Reset this PC ("Get started" button). Then select "Keep my files".

    He should make sure that anything he cares about on the PC is backed up before starting any kind of reset.
    Joe

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    kevmeist (2016-05-26)

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks Joe,

    K

  15. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Also make sure he has the install media for all his desktop apps as they will be lost and need to be reinstalled.

    Jerry

  16. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    329
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Maybe you should do a reply with quote as I am not sure if you are referring to a "factory" reset or the Win10 reset that Joe mentioned?

    I don't think he has anything on the PC that did NOT come from Dell that cannot be downloaded again. I would assume the the Win10 reset that Joe mentioned I would have thought does NOTHING with installed apps.

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Also make sure he has the install media for all his desktop apps as they will be lost and need to be reinstalled.

    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •