Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    Installing my W7 SP1 system on a new computer with W10 preinstalled

    I want to buy a new desktop, but it will come with W10 preinstalled. Can I bring my W7 SP1 system back onto the new hardware?

    If so, what would be the most efficient way to do that? For example, I have multiple partitions on my existing desktop. Would it make sense to put all the partitions back to 1 C:\ partition?

    Thanks, as always, for any help offered.

    Dick Y.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    First you have to determine if your Win 7 license is a Retail License or an OEM License. You can legally move the former but not the latter.

    You can use the slmgr /dli from an elevated command prompt.

    Win 7 HP Results:
    Win7HPSlmgr Results.JPG

    Win 10 Pro Results:
    Win10ProSlmgr Results.PNG

    So I could not Legally move my Win 7 to another machine while I could move my Win 10 Pro to another machine.

    Your next hurdle is making sure that you have Win 7 compatible drivers for your new hardware. Without those you're in a world of hurt.

    HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-05-30 at 09:24. Reason: Edit: Changed /dvi to /dli ... fat fingures!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    A new Windows 10 Pro computer would come with downgrade rights:

    Downgrade rights for Windows software

    The following OEM versions of Windows software are eligible for downgrade rights.

    Windows 10 Pro includes
    downgrade rights to:

    •Windows 8.1 Pro
    •Windows 7 Professional


    Understanding downgrade rights

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-05-29)

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    If Windows 7 is what you want, you could purchase a new computer with Windows 7 Pro installed. I just got a brand new Dell Windows 7 PC.

    It appears that all of these have Skylake CPUs. (I believe that the Skylake is "6th Generation".) For a while, Microsoft said that they would quit releasing Windows 7 security updates in July of 2017 for the Skylake CPU. But apparently they have relented on that and will now support Skylake through the published end of life for Windows 7 (Jan 2020).

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-06-07)

  7. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Apologies in advance for such a 'dumb" question . . .
    It must be my age or a brain cramp or both:

    I've just purchased a new laptop with W7 professional (64-bit) installed.
    Assuming I wanted to get rid of as much of my desktop hardware as possible, what do I need to keep so that I can access this laptop wirelessly?

    Thanks as always for your help,
    Dick

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    Not sure I understand the question.
    You need the laptop and a wireless router, obviously. What else do you want to get rid of?

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-06-19)

  10. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for responding Paul. The way I framed my question is obviously a symptom of my confusion. Let me try to ask it this way:
    Right now I have my desktop hardware: modem,wireless router, tower; and, of course, a keyboard,mouse, a display, and printer. My ISP (RoadRunner) connects to my router and my tower.

    My wife and I are in the process of downsizing and getting rid of as much "stuff" as we can.

    So, I thought, if I get a new laptop, how much of my current desktop set-up can I get rid of.

    That's what I'm trying to ask about; and I hope this clarifies at least my question if not my confusion.

    Best,
    Dick

    PS,
    Happy Father's Day to all the Dads out there!

  11. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Thanks for responding Paul. The way I framed my question is obviously a symptom of my confusion. Let me try to ask it this way:
    Right now I have my desktop hardware: modem,wireless router, tower; and, of course, a keyboard,mouse, a display, and printer. My ISP (RoadRunner) connects to my router and my tower.

    My wife and I are in the process of downsizing and getting rid of as much "stuff" as we can.

    So, I thought, if I get a new laptop, how much of my current desktop set-up can I get rid of.

    That's what I'm trying to ask about; and I hope this clarifies at least my question if not my confusion.

    Best,
    Dick

    PS,
    Happy Father's Day to all the Dads out there!
    If I may? You can get rid of the Tower, Monitor and Keyboard. Keep the mouse as it can be used on a Notebook/Laptop. Keep the Ethernet cable to the Router, may need it for changing some settings in the Router.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-06-19)

  13. #9
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    If you are talking about getting rid of the Desktop, you would still need the modem, wireless router, ( and if you want to print anything ) the printer.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to lumpy95 For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-06-19)

  15. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    426
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    If your tower is running Windows 7 SP-1 then you might want to upgrade it to Windows 10 for the next owner's benefit.
    To some folks, it would make the computer more attractive (if you wanted to sell it).
    Just a thought.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to RockE For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-06-19)

  17. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    I put my tower under the desk so I use the same desk real estate as a laptop.

    cheers, Paul
    Last edited by Paul T; 2016-06-20 at 03:33.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •