Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Win 10 sfc says it has repaired errors, but, has it?

    Hi,

    My Windows 10 backups keep failing because it cannot access an external, bitlockered USB drive of sufficient capacity to hold the drives I chose. I get "error code: 0x807800C5" and when searching online, I found that, for some users, running "sfc /scannow" helped. When I ran it from admin-level PowerShell window, the results were:

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++
    PS C:\Users\Administrator> sfc /scannow

    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.

    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.

    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some
    of them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For
    example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. Note that logging is currently not
    supported in offline servicing scenarios.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++

    I then opened CBS.log in C:\Windows\Logs and found this message at the end:

    "2016-06-01 17:47:30, Info CSI 00005499 [SR] Verify and Repair Transaction completed. All files and registry keys listed in this transaction have been successfully repaired"

    What can be told about the difference in the PowerShell output and the line in the log file indicating that all repairs were made?

    I ran an "sfc /scannow" right after and it reported the same corrupt files found but was unable to fix them.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    badbigdad

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Open an elevated Command Prompt and type (without the quotes) "dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth" and Enter.

    It will take some time to run; don't interrupt it. That should restore any corrupted files. You can run sfc /scannow after it completes to comfirm.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Results of action suggested

    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Open an elevated Command Prompt and type (without the quotes) "dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth" and Enter.

    It will take some time to run; don't interrupt it. That should restore any corrupted files. You can run sfc /scannow after it completes to comfirm.
    I ran the command as directed.The result of the command was:

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++
    Windows PowerShell
    Copyright (C) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    PS C:\Users\Administrator> dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0

    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0

    [==========================100.0%================== ========]

    Error: 0x800f081f

    The source files could not be found.
    Use the "Source" option to specify the location of the files that are required to restore the feature. For more information on specifying a source location, se
    e http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=243077.

    The DISM log file can be found at C:\windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
    PS C:\Users\Administrator>

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++

    What should I do now?

    badbigdad

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Evidently your installation of Windows 10 used install.esd instead of install.wim (if you installed from Microsoft, that's more than likely what happened). You'll need to locate your install.esd file, and use it for the source. The command line will be

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth /source:ESD:<insertfullpath>\install.esd:1

    For example I would use "dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth /source:esd:C:\sources\install.esd:1".
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Also, the DISM command is not a PowerShell command. Run it in a "Command Prompt" - right click on the Windows flag and select "Command Prompt (Admin)".

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    While there are PowerShell cmdlets to do the same operations as DISM you may still run DISM in PowerShell. If you wish to see a list of PowerShell aliases and cmdlets for DISM use
    "Get-command -Module DISM" (without the quotation marks).
    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you to all who took the time to read and answer my post.

    I could not find either of install.esd nor install.wim on my hard drive. I have an HP Envy Phoenix desktop which came with Win10 Pro pre-installed. I guess they must have just used an imaged drive to initialize my drive.

    I'll try to find another way to backup my main drive.

    Thanks, again.
    badbigdad

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    If you don't have an install.esd or install.wim...
    Perhaps you could download an ISO file of your Windows 10 version, then mount it, and use that as a source to run DISM?

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Download the Windows Media Creation Tool and use it to create a USB install.
    With the USB plugged in work out which drive letter has been assigned. (I'll assume it's H: for this example.)
    Run DISM with the following command line.
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth /source:esd:H:\sources\install.esd:1

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •