Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

What's Wrong with Windows Computers

Or is it just a run of bad luck? I have been using PCs at work and home since 1994 and have been an avid fan of them and technology in general.

Enjoyed using XP, Vista and really liked Win 7. Then due to an accident I had to replace my Win 7 computer with a Win 8.1 laptop in November of 2014. The first one was an Acer that had so many issues out of the box that I returned it to Best Buy within the week. The replacement was a Dell laptop which had and still has chronic issues with the touchpad. Despite driver changes and a replaced touchpad tap to click still turns itself on constantly and only a restart will fix the problem. Win 8.1 in my experience was far worse than any version of Windows I had used previously. I have since upgraded that machine to Win 10 and glad I did as the OS is a much better experience but 10 didn't fix the touchpad issue.

In December of last year we added a Microsoft Surface 3 running Win 10 and it was a disaster. MicroSD cards would not stay mounted, it frequently required forced shutdowns and finally it simply quit functioning and would not boot in any mode. In the course of trying to resolve the issues I experienced the least customer centric service I have experienced courtesy of Microsoft. So much so, that I will never own another piece of hardware from them if I can avoid it. Luckily since I bought it from Costco I was able to get my money back and move on.