Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    About the Compact OS deployment in Windows 10

    How many Loungers have encountered Windows 10 in its "Compact OS format"?

    I recently assisted a friend with upgrading to Windows 10. On completion I showed him how to make a new Recovery Disk for his Macrium Reflect Backup/Recovery program. Reflect could not make a standard Recovery Media disk; instead, it insisted that Win PE Recovery Media had to be made because "Windows Compact OS" had been encountered.

    I did a search and came up with this:

    https://www.idelta.info/archives/abo...in-windows-10/

    The above article explains this format of the OS (I had never encountered it before).

    Question: Can one force a full, as opposed to a compact installation; and can one "disable" an existing compact installation"
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Interesting article, from which I understood that the :never command would disable it - or am I wrong ?

    What type and size of disk is in your friend's machine as that would seem to be the deciding factor.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Greetings Sudo15: My friend's HD is 250GB (not an SSD), so the Windows installation should NOT have defaulted to the compact state (more than 70% of the drive was free after the installation was complete.

    As I understand the article, the :never command must be used before the installation. Once a compact installation is in place, I am wondering if there is a way to "undo" it without having to re-install everything on the drive?
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Which version was the machine upgraded from ?

    From what I understood from the article is that Win 10 decides if the machine would benefit from it, so applying that command before an upgrade may not stick.

    Have you tried the cmd and then see what Windows has to say when you retry with Macrium Reflect.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    The upgrade to Win 10 64 bit Pro was from Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit.

    I have not "fiddled" in any way yet, because I want to make a full backup of his system HD beforehand; once that has been achieved and recovery tested, then I'll give it a try.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Good idea

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Pete,

    If you wouldn't mind I'd very much appreciate it if you could test my program found here to see if it correctly identifies the OS as compacted. I've not encountered a machine in this state to test it on as of yet.

    WindowsCompacted.PNG
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-06-10 at 11:12.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I'm sure it does RG as I remember seeing it!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    I'm sure it does RG as I remember seeing it!
    Brownie,

    I appreciate your confidence but I never trust code until it has been tested against all cases. In this case it's true it does return False for non-compacted (which the vast majority of Win 10 installations are) but will it return True when it actually sees a compacted OS. Inquiring minds want to know...and so do I!

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    It returns unknown on my tablet!

    compact.PNG

    eta it is in a compacted state

    compacr2.PNG
    Last edited by Browni; 2016-06-10 at 12:35. Reason: add current state

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    See this Windows experience blog article for an explanation about compact OS - How Windows 10 achieves its compact footprint.

    From the article:

    "If compressed system files will give you storage capacity back without compromising your device’s responsiveness, then upgrade will automatically compress Windows 10. For new Windows 10 devices, manufacturers perform the suitability assessment and enable system compression appropriately."
    Joe

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RG: I have already executed the DOS routine to change my friend's setup from compacted to un-compacted (the de-compressing took about 6 minutes on his system). I don't think he would be too happy for me to go and re-compress it in order to test your program(!))

    It seems, however, that one can switch from the one state to the other in an already-installed Windows 8.1 or !0 OS as often as you wish, simply by running the "always" or "never" routine. In my friend's case, uncompressing resulted in 3GB more disk space being occupied by the OS. (IMHO if 3GB disk space makes the difference between being able to use Win 10 or not, then you need a bigger HD!!)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    @RG: I have already executed the DOS routine to change my friend's setup from compacted to un-compacted (the de-compressing took about 6 minutes on his system). I don't think he would be too happy for me to go and re-compress it in order to test your program(!))

    It seems, however, that one can switch from the one state to the other in an already-installed Windows 8.1 or !0 OS as often as you wish, simply by running the "always" or "never" routine. In my friend's case, uncompressing resulted in 3GB more disk space being occupied by the OS. (IMHO if 3GB disk space makes the difference between being able to use Win 10 or not, then you need a bigger HD!!)
    3GB can make a huge difference on a tablet where disk sizes are pretty small.
    Joe

  14. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Pete,

    No worries. I've since found out that my program was not reporting properly (now fixed new code here) and that both of my Laptops w/10 are compressed. Both are on SSDs.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RetiredGeek: Glad to hear your program has been successfully tested and proven to be functional!

    @JoeP517: You are correct (I had fallen into the trap of thinking purely in "Desktop Terms"!)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •