Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Removing "Windows Old" folder

    A few days ago I did a reinstall/repair because of instability with my Windows 10 upgrade. I made a Macrium image before the operation in case things went wrong. I have now removed a number of programs and “cleaned up” the new installation and made another image. I noticed that the “before” image was 38 GB and the “after” 44 Gb; using Treesize I see that there is a Windows Old folder of 15 GB, with such folders as Program files (x86) and program files, repeating other folders on the disk. I knew that the upgrade made a folder for reverting to the previous Windows version, but not the reinstall repair – can I safely delete the Windows old folder?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Use the Disk Cleanup tool - run control panel, type disk cleanup in the search box, click on "free unnecessary ...." to run it. When the inital pass is complete, then click on the "Clean up system files" button. Select the categories you wish to remove.
    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2016-06-15)

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    Like Joe said, you can remove it using Disk Cleanup.

    As to why it made another "Windows.old" folder? Well, think about it a moment... the reinstall program has to be prepared to "roll back" (without finalizing changes) if it runs into any unforeseen problems. It essentially works like the original upgrade.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RockE For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2016-06-15)

  6. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Windows will automatically remove the Windows.old folder a month after you upgrade, anyway.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Tchan For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2016-06-15)

  8. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you all - it worked just as predicted.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •